India has sown seeds of hatred in hearts of Kashmiris, Indian minorities: FM Qureshi

ISI DG Lt-Gen Faiz Hameed briefs APC participants on IIOJK situation

Our Correspondent August 04, 2020
ISI DG Lt-Gen Faiz Hameed attends APC at Foreign Office in Islamabad. PHOTO: EXPRESS


Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi said on Tuesday that the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh-inspired BJP government has sown seeds of hatred in the hearts of not only Kashmiris but also minorities in India.

Qureshi, while presiding over an All Parties Conference at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs regarding law and order situation in Indian Illegally Occupied Jammu & Kashmir (IIOJK), said that all Kashmiris have categorically rejected the unconstitutional and unilateral measures taken by the Indian government on August 5 last year.

“Pakistan has exposed the ongoing human rights violations in IIOJK at every international forum,” the foreign minister said. “India's Hindutva policy is a threat not only to Kashmiris but to the peace of the entire region.”

The foreign minister added that India seeks to change the population demographics in the occupied valley by changing domicile laws, which is a clear violation of international law.

“Today all political parties of Pakistan stand united on the Kashmir issue,” Qureshi said. “India could not demoralise unarmed Kashmiri people despite torture and imprisonment. Today, the real face of the Indian government has been exposed to the world. The world is criticising India's hateful policies,” he asserted.

The FM said the Pakistani nation and all political and military leadership have a common position on the Kashmir issue.

“Pakistan will continue to support its Kashmiri brothers until they get their due right, that of self-determination,” FM Qureshi said.

Pakistan’s premier intelligence agency Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) also briefed the participants on prevailing situation in IIOJK. ISI DG Lt-Gen Faiz Hameed was also present during the meeting.

The meeting was attended by National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani, Minister for Information Senator Shibli Faraz, Federal Minister for Law Barrister Farogh Naseem, Minister for Kashmir Affairs Ali Amin Gandapur and Chairman Kashmir Committee Shehryar Afridi, Senator Raja Zafarul Haq, former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf and former defence minister Khawaja Asif among others.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ