MQM-P challenges election results of five NA, PA constituencies

Published: September 22, 2018
MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar. PHOTO: AFP

MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar. PHOTO: AFP

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) on Saturday challenged results of the 2018 general elections across five national and provincial assembly seats at the Sindh High Court (SHC), Express News reported.

Former party convener Farooq Sattar submitted the petitions challenging the poll results of NA-241 (Korangi Karachi-III), NA-245 (Karachi East-IV), PS-97 (Korangi Karachi-VI), PS-136 (Karachi Central-IV) and PS-130 (Karachi Central-VIII).

Sattar mulls joining PTI, contesting NA-247

In the elections, candidates from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI):  Faheem Khan (NA-241), Amir Liaquat Hussain (NA-245), Raja Azhar Khan (PS-97), Omar Omairi (PS-126) and Mohammad Riaz Haider (PS-130) had defeated MQM-P’s Moeen Amir Peerzada, Sattar, Waqar Shah, Asif Ali Khan and Jamal Ahmed respectively.

Sattar told reporters he was confident the court will rule in the party’s favour. He said he was filing applications premised on evidence.

Farooq Sattar resigns from MQM-P’s Rabita Committee

Sattar, who recently resigned from MQM-P’s central committee, had contested from NA-245 (Karachi East-IV) and NA-247 (Karachi South-II). He lost both constituencies.

Earlier this month, the former Karachi mayor claimed PTI had offered him a party ticket for NA-247. The seat has been vacated by President Arif Alvi. Sattar said PTI leaders reached out to him with an invitation to join the party. “They want me to contest from Alvi’s seat. I am consulting with close aides,” Sattar said.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan