Election postponed in eight constituencies of national, provincial assemblies

Published: July 24, 2018
A woman casting her vote during the general elections 2013. PHOTO: AFP

A woman casting her vote during the general elections 2013. PHOTO: AFP

Elections have been postponed in eight national and provincial assembly constituencies, Express News reported.

In one of the constituencies, a candidate had been disqualified while in the other seven, the contesting candidates had passed away.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Hanif Abbasi was handed a life sentence in the Ephedrine quota case, rendering him unfit to contest the polls for NA-60, leading to the postponement.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) announced to defer polling in PK-78 Peshawar, PP-87 Mianwali, PS-87 Malir, PK-99 Dera Ismail Khan, PB-35 Mastung, PP-103 and NA-103 Faisalabad constituencies.

1,000 ‘kafans’ ready for election day as ‘preemptive measure’ in Peshawar

The polls shall be contested in 841 constituencies of the country on July 25. Of these, Votes shall be cast in 270 constituencies out of 272 National Assembly seats.

While in the four provinces, candidates will battle it out in 500 of the 507 seats available.

All election campaigning by political parties ended on July 23 as per the ECP rules. The run up to the elections has been one of the bloodiest in the countries history which saw string of deadly attacks by terrorists targeting election candidates and their supporters.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (1)

  • m ali
    Jul 25, 2018 - 1:05AM

    As a citizen of Pakistan, I am inviting citizens to think
    If, I am confident that No one are capable for my VOTE,
    Then , What option, I have to choose as per charter of Pakistan.

    Kindly give me option in Ballade Paper to reject all candidates.Recommend

More in Pakistan