ECP issues final list of candidates from K-P

Some 32 contestants are vying for the 11 seats of the province

Our Correspondent February 18, 2018
Some 32 contestants are vying for the 11 seats of the province. PHOTO: FILE

PESHAWAR: After the appellate tribunal for the Senate elections disposed of all petitions filed against the candidates, the Election Commission of Pakistan’s (ECP) Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) chapter on Sunday issued its final list of contestants.

On Saturday, the Peshawar High Court’s Justice Mussarat Hilali, head of the appellate tribunal, dismissed all three petitions filed against the decision of the returning officer (RO).

Senate elections: 27 candidates file nomination papers for four FATA seats

The petition had challenged the RO’s decision to accept the nomination papers of three candidates, including Maulana Gul Naseeb and Mohammad Yaqoob Shaikh of JUI-F and Dilawar Khan of PML-N.

After the appellate tribunal’s decision, the ECP issued the final list of the candidates who will be contesting for the 11 seats of the upper house of parliament from K-P. The election for the 11 seats, including seven general, two each for technocrats and women, will be held on March 3, according to the ECP’s schedule.

28 candidates submit nomination papers for Senate election
According to the final list, a total 32 candidates are contesting for these slots including 18 candidates for general seats, eight for women seats and six for technocrats’ seats.

The ECP spokesperson said that the candidates can withdraw their nomination papers till February 19 (today).


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ