Ayesha Gulalai claims credit for PML-N’s victory in Lodhran by-poll

Says she ran election campaign on behalf of the ruling party to mend the public opinion and reveal PTI's true face

News Desk February 15, 2018
Ayesha Gulalai. PHOTO: FILE

Ayesha Gulalai, the disgruntled MNA of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), has said the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) could only manage to pull a shocking victory in the recently held Lodhran by-election against the Imran Khan-led party because of her.

Speaking to reporters outside the Parliament House in Islamabad on Thursday, she said deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif did not even visit the NA-154 constituency to run the election campaign for his party, Express News reported.

“On the other hand, I led an election campaign on behalf of the ruling party to mend the public opinion against the PTI and reveal the party’s true face in front of people of Lodhran,” said the MNA.

‘Rookie’ candidate failed to woo voters in Lodhran by-poll: Imran Khan

“My electioneering received people’s approval that led to PTI candidate Ali Tareen’s eventual defeat,” she said.

Ali Tareen – the son of Jahangir Tareen who was disqualified by the Supreme Court for being ‘dishonest’ – was overwhelmed by PML-N’s Peer Iqbal Shah in February 12 by-election.

Shah bagged 116,590 votes while the young Tareen managed to grab 91, 230 votes – nearly the same that Siddiq Baloch of the PML-N had secured in the Dec 2015 by-election against Jehangir Tareen.

Gulalai further said that she will make an important announcement regarding launching her own faction of PTI on Friday.

Ayesha Gulalai to launch her 'own faction of PTI'

On August 1 last year, Gulalai had accused Imran and his ‘gang’ of sending lewd text messages to women workers, saying they were being constantly harassed within the party.

The PTI, after serving her show-cause notice, moved the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to de-seat her on charges of defecting the party. The commission, however, dismissed the reference to de-seat the MNA, elected on a women’s reserved seat.