Three PML-N lawmakers tender resignations to Punjab Assembly secretariat

MPAs Nizamuddin Sialvi, Maulana Rahmatullah, Muhammad Khan demand Sanaullah’s removal

Rana Yasif December 12, 2017
MPAs Nizamuddin Sialvi, Maulana Rahmatullah and Muhammad Khan demand Rana Sanaullah’s removal as Punjab Law Minister. PHOTO: FILE

LAHORE: The Punjab Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday received resignations from three Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) legislators who said they were quitting the House in protest against the provincial government’s failure to take action against its Law Minister Rana Sanaullah over his alleged controversial remarks regarding the Khatm-e-Nabuwwat issue.

One Muhammad Nawaz introduced himself as personal assistant to Sahibzada Ghulam Nizamuddin Sialvi and handed over to the assembly’s secretary the resignations of Sialvi from PP-37 Sargodha, Muhammad Khan Baloch from PP-81 Jhang and Muhammad Rahmatullah PP-74 Chiniot.

Punjab Assembly Secretary Rai Mumtaz said that under Rule 35 of the Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of Punjab 1997, the speaker would satisfy himself whether the resignations were given without pressure by investigating the matter from the legislators concerned or assigning officials to do so. After complete satisfaction, he added, a gazette notification would be issued to the Election Commission of Pakistan that would then declare the assembly seats vacant.

Sialvi stated in his resignation that “one member of the Punjab government adopted blasphemous conduct” upon which he had protested against him before the Punjab government, but in vain.

Five lawmakers resign in major setback to PML-N

Baloch said people were protesting over the controversial remarks but the provincial government was not bothered.

Rehmatullah said he had demanded the resignation of the law minister but the government did not take his demand seriously.

All three requested acceptance of their resignations.

Talking to The Express Tribune, Sialvi said the stance of his group was clear that the minister should clarify his faith.

Sialvi’s assistant said the resignations of MNAs Ghulam Bibi Bharwana and Dr Nisar Jutt would also be submitted to the National Assembly in coming days.

Sanaullah asks what opponents will do if PML-N wins elections

The five PML-N lawmakers had announced their resignation during a public meeting presided over by spiritual leader Pir Hameeduddin Sialvi in Faisalabad on Sunday.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read