Pakistan announce U19 World Cup squad

Skipper Hasan Khan confident side can impress for next month’s tournament

Nabil Tahir December 05, 2017
Prior experience: Captain Hasan impressed with the bat in the 2016 U19 World Cup and will be looking to repeat the trick next month in New Zealand. PHOTO: ICC

KARACHI: Captain Hasan Khan is optimistic that Pakistan can impress at the 2018 U19 World Cup as the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announces the 15-man squad that will travel to New Zealand in January next year.

Hasan Khan made his first-class debut for Karachi Whites in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy this season and is looking to draw inspiration from his side’s performances in the recent Asia Cup.

“We have been playing well recently, despite getting thrashed in a few matches,” he told The Express Tribune. “We want to overcome our mistakes before the tournament.”

Hasan was also part of the team that went for the 2016 World Cup, topping the batting charts for Pakistan with 293 runs.

Hasan topped the batting charts for Pakistan in the last edition of U19 World Cup in 2016, compiling 293 runs. “We have a good team; we just have to go out there and give it our best,” he said. “We have time and we will use it to try and create better coordination in the side.”

The all-rounder struggled with the bat in the recently concluded Asia Cup, scoring just 39 runs, and he admits he must do better.

“My performances were not up the required standard,” he said, despite claiming seven wickets with the ball. “I am working on improving before the World Cup.”

Munir Riaz, who bagged eight wickets at the Asia Cup, and Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the attack.

Pakistan are expected to take part in a three-match ODI against Australia U19 on December 27, 29 and 31 before taking on hosts New Zealand in two games on January 3 and 5, 2018.

Pakistan are placed in Group D alongside U19 Asia Cup champions Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Ireland, with their first game being against Afghanistan on January 13.

Pakistan are two-time U19 19 World Cup winners, having won the tournament in 2004 and 2006, while West Indies are the defending champions.


Hasan Khan (c), Mohsin Khan, Imran Shah, Zaid Alam, Rohail Nazir (wk), Muhammad Taha, Emmad Alam, Ali Zaryab, Saad Khan, Mohammad Musa, Shaheen Afridi, Munir Riaz, Arshad Iqbal, Muhammad Ali and Suleman Shafqat



Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read