Express Tribune wins four Agahi Awards

Agahi Award is a prestigious award for journalists in Pakistan

News Desk December 11, 2016

The Express Tribune journalists won four Agahi awards during an annual ceremony held in Islamabad on Saturday.

Reporter Sheharyar Ali received the award in the category of ‘rule of law’. In his story, titled ‘Getting Computerised National Identity Card (CNIC) in Lyari is an ordeal few are willing to bear,’ the reporter focused on how the process of applying for CNICs in Lyari is different from the rest of the country. He explored the trials faced by people in the area when visiting the Nadra office in the area.

The Express Tribune video 'The Richest Poor Man', based on an exclusive interview with social activist and philanthropist Abdul Sattar Edhi, was also awarded in the category of 'video journalism'.

Reporter Muhammad Shahzad won two awards in the categories of ‘extremism and terrorism’ and ‘corporate social responsibility’ for his stories ‘How a teenage girl ended up in Syria’ and ‘Labour pains’ which was co-written by Amel Ghani.

His first story focuses on the ordeal of a widowed mother whose 14-year-old radicalised daughter reportedly left for Syria to join Daesh, a global terror outfit. The second story for which Amel Ghani also won an award, described the torment of a man in search of his elder brother who went missing after the collapse of Rajput Polymers at Sundar Industrial Estate in Lahore.

Inaugurated on March 28, 2012, the Agahi Awards are Pakistan’s first ever journalism awards recognising the best journalists across print, television, radio and the internet on more than 40 different journalism thematic beats.

Agahi and Mishal Pakistan in collaboration with leading press clubs across the country, local and international media development bodies, regulatory authorities and the private sector organise these awards.

Below is the complete list of winners for Agahi Awards 2016:

Javeria Siddique (Agriculture)

Naimat Khan (Anti-Corruption)

Adnan Aamir (Business and Economy)

Shafi Moosa Mansoori (Citizen Empowerment)

Shumaila Jaffery (Women Empowerment)

Muhammad Sameer Saleem (Youth Empowerment)

Samiullah Randhawa (Climate Change)

Mubarek Zeb Khan (Competitiveness)

Muhammad Irfan Haider and Sadia Qasim Shah (Conflict)

Muhammad Shahzad (Corporate Social Responsibility)

Adil Aziz Khanzada (CPEC)

Shahzia Nisar (Creating Shared Value)

Zehra Nawab (Culture and Tourism)

Syed Muhammad Abubaker (Disasters and Catastrophe)

Naqeebullah Taran (Education)

Muhammad Luqman (Eliminating Hidden Hunger)

Fazal Rahim Awan (Entrepreneurship)

Muhammad Shahzad (Extremism and Terrorism)

Muhammad Akbar Notezai (Foreign Policy)

Ahsan Raza (South Asia Bridge Initiative – SABI)

Muhammad Akbar Notezai (Foresight and Futures)

Wali Zahid (Governance)

Muhammad Shahid (Health)

Haroon Siraj (Human Rights)

Fariha Fatima (Infotainment)

Zeeshan Anwar (Innovation Journalism)

Hassan Bilal Zaidi (Information Communication Technology)

Khalid Khattak (Innovation)

Muhammad Suhail Yusuf (Reporting On Science)

Imran Malik (Institutional Reforms)

Zaheer Uddin Babar (Journalism for Peace)

Muhammad Atif Sheikh (Media Ethics)

Ihtisham ul Haq (Nutrition)

Zahid Gishkori (Open Government)

Sadia Seher (Photo Journalism - Print)

Sheharyar Ali (Rule of Law)

Saeed Badshah (Sports)

Shehzad Ahmad (Sexual and Reproductive Health Rights - SRHR)

Syed Muhammad Abubakar (Sustainable Development Goals – SDGs)

Fazal Khaliq (Vocational Training and Technical Education)

Syed Muhammad Abubakar (Water Diplomacy)

Muhammad Suhail Yusuf (Water, Energy and Food Security Nexus)


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read