Deleting your browser history does not really delete anything and there is a record of every Google search you have ever made, right back to the very first one.
However, this is only for searches you have made while being logged into your Gmail or Google account. If you feel the need to have a look at everything you have ever searched for, you can type in history.google.com/history. A search function even allows you to search your own search history for specific memories or keywords.
You can look through all of your old image searches as well and also see what areas of Google Maps you have explored over the years. It even explains how to download your entire search history. Luckily, only you can see this information and you can stop Google tracking your searches.
You need to open your browser and on the left-hand side of the page you will see the ‘Activity Controls’ option. After clicking that you can switch off the first slider that comes up, marked ‘Web & App Activity’. So you might not want to leave your account logged in on a public computer ever again!
This article originally appeared on Indy100.