PML-N's Ayaz Sadiq elected speaker of the National Assembly

Published: June 3, 2013

A file photo of the National Assembly. PHOTO: FILE

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) member Ayaz Sadiq has elected as the speaker of the National Assembly with 258 votes, reported Express News on Monday.

PML-N nominee Sher Ali Gorchani was elected as the deputy speaker of the National Assembly.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominee Shaharyar Afridi received 31 votes in total, while Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM)’s nominee SA Iqbal Qadri received a total of 23 votes.

Ayaz Sadiq’s oath was administered by outgoing speaker Fehmida Mirza.

The outgoing speaker Fehmida Mirza congratulated the new speaker and said she was content with her service in the past tenure. She thanked the president, all politicians and media institutions for their cooperation during her time as speaker of the National Assembly.

Speaker Ayaz Sadiq thanked all members of the assembly for having faith in him to handle the honourable position. In his address after taking the oath he said, “I hope we will all work towards the betterment of Pakistan. I expect the members of the national assembly to cut down their expenses to help the government. I also expect that expense transactions will be scrutinized and made transparent for all.”

PTI nominated Shaharyar Afridi for the post of speaker, and Munazza Hassan, an MNA on a reserved seat for the slot of deputy speakers.

MQM had fielded SA Iqbal Chaudhry for the seat of speaker, and an MNA from reserved seat, Kishwar Zehra, as deputy speaker.

PPP nominated Mirpur Khas’ Nawab Yousuf as speaker and Ghulam Rasool Koreja for the post of deputy speaker but PPP withdrew the nominations last minute on PML-N’s request.

Outgoing speaker Fehmida Mirza presided over the voting.


The national assembly began its session on Monday with an oath taking ceremony of those members that were not able to take oath during its first session on Saturday.

The oath was administered by the outgoing speaker of the National Assembly Fehmida Mirza for the members including Jamshed Dasti, Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Shagufta Jumani.

The National Assembly is occupied by around 190 first time MNAs and will witness the return of some veteran politicians.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz holds a simple majority in the 342-member National Assembly.

Reader Comments (6)

  • Tam
    Jun 3, 2013 - 5:42PM

    PTI’s Munaza Hassan is a Canadian immigrant. How come she is an MNA.


  • Dr. Asad Sadick, Germany
    Jun 3, 2013 - 6:52PM

    You mean Canadian immigrant to Pakistan. That is not a problem. LOL


  • Asim Naseer
    Jun 3, 2013 - 7:17PM

    Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) member Ayaz Sadiq has elected as the speaker of the National Assembly with 258 votes, reported Express News on Monday. Should have been “has been elected”


  • naeem khan manhattan,Ks
    Jun 3, 2013 - 7:28PM

    @Dr. Asad Sadick, Germany:
    Lay off the poor


  • Srb
    Jun 3, 2013 - 8:40PM

    A down to earth and humble man. I vote for him from NA122.


  • Mohaisin Sharif
    Jun 4, 2013 - 2:13AM

    Very slow democratic process, Election held almost month ago and still no government? For Developing countries, each day is important for economy, trade, tourism etc!


More in Pakistan