Court hearing: SHOs, IOs penalised for failing to submit charge sheets

The penalty included forfeiture of service ban on promotions, increments and other benefits

Online June 27, 2015
The penalty included forfeiture of service ban on promotions, increments and other benefits. PHOTO: AFP


City Police Officer (CPO) Israr Ahmed Khan has penalised and punished several station house officers (SHOs) and investigation officers (IOs) of the Rawalpindi division for failing to submit investigation charge sheets in courts.

Under the National Action Plan (NAP), the Rawalpindi police have intensified its investigation against suspects facing terror charges, however, a large number of SHOs and IOs have failed to submit timely charge sheets against suspects, drawing not only judges’ re but also causing embarrassment to police high-ups.

While evaluating the poor performance of the police officials, the CPO has slapped penalties on them.

The penalty included forfeiture of service (ban on promotions, increments and other benefits), a fine of Rs5,000 on each officer besides initiating departmental action against them.

The police officials who have been penalised and punished include Sub-Inspector Muhammad Mumtaz, Sub-Inspector Atta Muhammad, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Irshad, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Ashraf, ASI Muhammad Yousuf, Sub-Inspector Khaleeq Ahmed, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Ishaq, Sub-Inspector Amir Mehmood, Sub-Inspector Manzoor Shah, Sub-Inspector Atif Hussain, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Ashraf, Sub-Inspector Nazeer Ahmed, Sub-Inspector Mazhar Iqbal, Sub-Inspector Manzoor Shah, Sub-Inspector Zulfiqar Hussain, Sub-Inspector Riaz Ali, Sub-Inspector Pervaiz Iqbal, Sub-Inspector Qaisar Naseem, Sub-Inspector Hasnaat Ahmed, Sub-Inspector Shafqat Ali, ASI Ameer Gondal, Sub-Inspector Tariq Ilyas, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Riaz, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Ayub, ASI Shabbir Ahmed, Sub-Inspector Khizar Hayat, Sub-Inspector Mudassir Abbas, ASI Riasat Mehmood, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Afzal, Sub-Inspector Atif Hussain, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Amad; Sub-Inspector Aftab Ahmed; Sub-Inspector Muhammad Arif, Sub-Inspector Muhammad Ramazan and Sub-Inspector Hassan Raza.

The police officials who have been fined Rs5,000 each included SHO Pirwadhai Riaz, SHO New Town Tahir Khan, SHO Westridge Khalil Ahmed Bhatti, SHO Banni Nadeem Zafar, SHO Waris Khan Abid Khan, SHO Ratta Amral Muhammad Afzal, SHO  Racecourse Malik Yousuf, SHO Naseerabad Waseem Faraz, SHO Civil Lines Awais Akram, SHO Airport Abdul Sattar Khan, SHO Ghanjmandi Muhammad Mumtaz, SHO Taxila Malik Sajid, SHO Wah Cantt Yasir Kiyani, SHO Wah Saddar Imran Abbas, SHO Kahuta Amir Khan and SHO Murree Rafaqat.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 28th, 2015.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ