Higher education: ‘PHEC to decide issues through consultation’

PHEC chairperson welcomes members’ notification

Our Correspondent April 17, 2015
PHEC chairperson welcomes members’ notification. STOCK IMAGE


Punjab Higher Education Commission Chairperson Muhammad Nizamuddin said on Thursday that the recently constituted commission would be holding a meeting soon to take key decisions regarding higher education through collective wisdom.  

He said a comprehensive strategy for the promotion of higher education would be formulated at the meeting. Nizamuddin welcomed the notification of commission members, saying it augured well for higher education in the province. He said ways of ensuring that research and development initiatives were taken in light of academic needs internationally would be looked into at the meeting. Nizamuddin said pivotal decisions regarding higher education would be taken through consultation and collective wisdom. He felicitated the nominated commission members and expressed hope that their expertise would strengthen higher education across the province.

The Higher Education Department had issued notifications for the commission’s 17 members earlier on Monday. The Punjab Higher Education Commission Act 2014 was enacted in December. Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, the controlling authority of the PHEC, had appointed Nizamuddin as its first chairperson.

According to the notifications, Nizamuddin has been appointed the commission’s chairperson. As many as four secretaries from the Higher Education Department, Health Department, Agriculture Department and Finance Department have been named as members. Commission members from academia include University of Health Sciences Vice Chancellor Muhammad Aslam, Government College University VC Khaleequr Rahman, Lahore University of Management Sciences VC Sohail Naqvi, former University of Engineering and Technology VC Muhammad Akram Khan, former Fatima Jinnah Women University Rawalpindi VC Najma Najam, Government College of Home Economics Principal Samia Kulsoom and Kinnaird College for Women Principal Rukhsana David.

Other members of the commission include a Higher Education Commission nominee, the Accreditation Committee chairperson, a provincial assembly member (MPA) nominated by the speaker and the Lahore Chamber of Commerce and Industry president. The members have been nominated to a four-year term.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 17th, 2015.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read