Extraordinary solution: Govt fine tunes plans for special courts, blocking terror financing

Published: December 30, 2014
SHARES
Email
Prime minister Nawaz Sharif chairing a meeting to review the National Action Plan. PHOTO: PID

Prime minister Nawaz Sharif chairing a meeting to review the National Action Plan. PHOTO: PID

Prime minister Nawaz Sharif chairing a meeting to review the National Action Plan. PHOTO: PID Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif chairing a meeting on the implementation of the National Action Plan at the PM House. PHOTO: NNI

ISLAMABAD: At the end of a six hour long high-level meeting to review progress on the National Action Plan to curb terrorism, Prime Minister Nawaz Sahrif said that all institutions would carefully scrutinise cases before prosecution of special military tribunals.

“We have isolated terrorists with our unity and will make sure that we remain united against those who killed the innocent children.”

The meeting reviewed progress on the implementation of National Action Plan to counter terrorism at the Prime Minister House.

Actions relating to blocking terror financing and breaking terror communication network were reviewed. Progress on action against illegal SIMs was also came under review.

The Prime Minister said only those cases would be referred to the special courts which relate to hardcore terrorists responsible for mass murder of innocent civilians, children and officials of law enforcement agencies.

He said special courts were part of the National Action Plan and an extraordinary solution of an extraordinary problem.

“We will refer cases of hardcore terrorists who are responsible for mass murders of innocent civilians, kids and jawans of security agencies. Special courts are part of the National Action Plan and an extraordinary solution to an extraordinary problem. All institutions will carefully  scrutinise cases before prosecution in the special military tribunals. National plan is manifestation of national consensus and we will ensure swift implementation,” said the prime minister while chairing the meeting.

The meeting is being attended by Interior Minister Ch. Nisar Ali Khan, Chief of Army Staff General Raheel Sharif and Director General (DG) Inter-Services Intelligence Lt. Gen. Rizwan Akhtar among others.

“Our fight is with the forces of hate, violence and intolerance, and as a nation we will win it,” the prime minister said during the meeting.

Actions to block terror financing and breaking terror communication network were reviewed during the meeting.

Further, progress on action against illegal SIM cards was also reviewed.

“A peaceful and secure Pakistan is our future and our ultimate objective, and our armed forces have paved the way for it through Operation Zarb-e-Azb,” Nawaz said.

“The premier has convened the meeting on internal  security where progress on the National Action Plan on counter terrorism is being discussed,” an official statement said.

According to sources, the meeting was expected to discuss the final recommendations of the 15 sub-committees on implementation of the National Action Plan and the proposal on the set up of military courts.

Fifteen sub-committees were assigned by the PM on Saturday to prepare a road map of implementation within three days. On Tuesday, the civil-military leadership is weighing on the committees’ recommendations and might distribute it to the concerned authorities for their executions within a fixed time period.

Participants were not only expected to discuss the proposed amendment in the constitution on military courts, but also to discuss and finalise the baseline of military courts — whether they will be established at the district, division, provincial level or at major urban cities.

The meeting was also  suppose to discuss ways and means to ensure effective implementation of twenty point national action plan agreed upon by all political parties.

The National Action Plan was adopted in the wake of Peshawar school tragedy to prepare a comprehensive strategy to combat terrorism.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (16)

  • Parvez
    Dec 30, 2014 - 2:55PM

    All talk and no action……makes an inept government look absurd.

    Recommend

  • Mubashir
    Dec 30, 2014 - 3:58PM

    @Parvez: By actions you mean PM should take out the gun himself and be on the streets? Talks are part of the action dear

    Recommend

  • Nabeel
    Dec 30, 2014 - 5:32PM

    This government is the biggest threat to stability ofPakistan.
    As long as this government remains we will never succeed in defeating terrorism.

    Recommend

  • Jibran
    Dec 30, 2014 - 5:43PM

    Irfan Siddiqi and Ch. Nisar in the National Action Plan committee? Very nice, now we have vultures guarding meat.

    Recommend

  • Ch. Allah Daad
    Dec 30, 2014 - 6:36PM

    Hope majority of law makers will reject this idea of Military Courts. Revengeful reaction cannot solve any problem. Military courts means that other judicial system is corrupt, coward and slow then why have it in first place.

    Recommend

  • Shaikh Mohommad
    Dec 30, 2014 - 8:05PM

    Do we want to see Military courts in action again? Surely we should stick to the Constitution of Pakistan come what may. Military courts will again give an impression that might is right. We should never forget the principles of justice. One principle is that a person is innocent until convicted by a court. My advice to Pakistan Army is to stay away from politics and let the law of the land prevail. If there is any weakness in the law, let the parliament change it. After all the people have elected the Government to maintain peace and tranquility in the country. They should address to the issue of independence and sovereignty of Pakistan which has been eroded by the existence of American diktat. We should all strive to make the country free from the clutches of American rule.

    Recommend

  • raider
    Dec 30, 2014 - 8:29PM

    it is part or not military courts are military courts

    Recommend

  • Rex Minor
    Dec 30, 2014 - 9:43PM

    @Mubashir:
    The Prime Minister has the choice to shoot himself instead of shooting in ones foot or better still, resign from the office allowing a capable democrat to lead the people who has also the guts to return the army back into the box and not compel the supreme court to intervene.

    Rex Minor

    Recommend

  • David Salmon
    Dec 30, 2014 - 11:12PM

    @Shaikh Mohommad: I agree with all you say, apart from the bit about an “American diktat.” Pakistan is notorious for having gone its own way, running with the hare and hunting with the dogs, resisting American entreaties in favor of its own, duplicitous “strategic assets” doctrine. I would have thought that Wikileaks had revealed the limits of American influence. “Diktat”? Hardly. Time to quit blaming the Americans for troubles Pakistan itself created and allowed to flourish.

    Recommend

  • Pmahmud
    Dec 30, 2014 - 11:46PM

    @Rex Minor:
    Do you have a name of “capable democrat” in your mind? Merkel? Putin? Obama?

    Recommend

  • Ali S
    Dec 31, 2014 - 12:12AM

    That must be a shock for our PM, actually having to act like a PM for once. Anyhow, better late than never.

    Recommend

  • Yup
    Dec 31, 2014 - 12:25AM

    @Pmahmud:

    IK?

    Recommend

  • curious
    Dec 31, 2014 - 12:33AM

    Fifteen sub-committees were assigned by the PM on Saturday to prepare a road map of implementation
    .
    I doubt any terrorist are quaking in their boots.

    Recommend

  • Sabir
    Dec 31, 2014 - 1:10AM

    PTI trolls still trying to put NS down, regardless all the good he is trying to do. PTI and Imran Khan has been blinded by their hate and anyone who doed not see eye to eye with them is bad and incompetent. The government in my view is doing the right thing by hammering out a long term plan to deal with terrorists, their financiers and symphathizers. Keep up the good work NS, let haters hate.

    Recommend

  • Raghu
    Dec 31, 2014 - 1:13AM

    Full faith in NS. Imran Khan brought this upon us by promoting extremism and his hate speech.

    Recommend

  • Aschraful Makhlooq
    Dec 31, 2014 - 12:36PM

    Military courts have been necessary for extraordinary solutions to control terrorism and the terrorists’ funding because civil courts are unable to do the same which military courts do because in the civil courts very very long time is taken and when during every mishap in Pakistan army is called for help then now why military courts’ establishment is being opposed by the some political parties?

    Recommend

More in Pakistan