SC cancels plot allotments of 53 bureaucrats

Plots were allotted to bureaucrats when PM promoted them, plots to be returned along with original documents.

Express November 11, 2010

ISLAMABAD: The government has cancelled plot allotments to 53 bureacrats after Supreme Court orders on Thursday.

A total of 53 top bureaucrats, who had been promoted to BS-22 by Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, were demoted earlier by the court. While the Supreme Court had stopped the promotions of these officers, Gilani ordered the government in September 2009 to revise the rules governing such decisions. He then promoted 25 of the officers who had been demoted.

The SC declared their promotions null and void and slammed the establishment secretary for a delay in the demotion of officials promoted to Grade-22 without merit. The SC then cancelled the promotions on April 27, 2010.

Express 24/7 correspondent Sumaira Khan reported that these bureacrats were allotted expensive properties in sectors G - 13 and D - 12 in Islamabad at the time of their promotions, and the SC on Thursday cancelled plot allotments by the prime minister.

Khan reported that questions were asked of the Minister of Housing Rehmatullah Kakar in the National Assembly, and he said the allotted plots have to be returned along with their original documents.

Khan reported that a complication may arise in this regard as some bureaucrats have already sold the plots allotted to them, and are now expected to return them with orinigal documents.

According to an Online report the bureaucrats who were affected with the SC verdict include the PM’s Principal Secretary Nargis Sethi, Former Chief Secretary Punjab Javed Mehmood, Secretary Election Commission Ishtiaq Ahmed, Secretary Narcotics Tariq Khosa, Secretary Petroleum Kamran Lashari, Home Secretary Qamar Zaman Chaudhry, Chairman CDA Imtiaz Inayat, Khyber Pakhtoonkhaw’s Chief Secretary Javed Iqbal, Secretary Ombudsman Sami Saeed, Chairman FBR Sohail Ahmed and Inspector General of the Punjab Police, Tariq Saleem Dogar, Secretary Information Technology Najeeb Ullah, Inspector General Balochistan Javed Ali Shah, Secretary Special Education Imtiaz Hussain Qazi, IG Motorway Wasim Kosar, Chief Secretary Balochistan Ahmed Buksh Lehri, Secretary Federal Ombudsman Sami Saeed.

The other officers include Pakistan’s High Commissioner in Australia Jalil Abbas Jillani, Pakistan’s Ambassador in China Masood Khan, Nazar Hussain, Junaid Iqbal, Ghulam Ali Shah, Zamer Akram, Prime Minister’s brother in law Moeen Al-Islam, Zahir Hussain, Rukhsana Saleem, Ahmed Mehmood, Batool Qureshi, Shabir Ahmed, Javed Noor, Khalid Khattak, Haroon Shaukat, Ameen-ul-Hussain, Ghulam Rasool, Gull Mohammad Rind, Tariq Iqbal Puri, Shahid Rasheed, Nasir Khosa, Inam Ullah Khan and Khalid Idrees.


Farah | 12 years ago | Reply Cancel the plots that were allotted to the judges at the earliest, Chief Justice.
Ehsan | 12 years ago | Reply Just a waste of time. As SC knows, the PM rewrote the rules and promoted ALL (but one) to Grade-22 again. He will rewrite the rules again to give them the plots back. SC certainly hasn't helped their cause when sitting SC judges themselves acquired plots (and in instances, more than one plot) from the very PM. I am certain rules were bent for that too. So agree with Jasmine that "The court should cancel the allotments done for the judges as well."
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read