First T20: South Africa trounce Pakistan by 9 wickets

South Africa lead the two match series 1-0.

Afp/web Desk November 13, 2013
South African captain Francois du Plessis plays a shot during the First T20 International at Dubai stadium on November 13, 2013. PHOTO: AFP

DUBAI: South Africa convincingly defeated Pakistan by 9 wickets in the first Twenty20 between Pakistan and South at Dubai with with 33 balls remaining, Cricinfo reported.

South Africa lead the two match series 1-0.

Francois du Plessis and Quinton de Kock made 37 and 48 runs for South Africa respectively.

Only South African wicket to fall was off Hashim Amla, Sohail Tanver bowled him out on 13.

Earlier, batting first Pakistan could only muster 98 runs in its allotted 20 overs for the loss of nine wickets in the first Twenty20 between Pakistan and South Africa of the two match series, Cricinfo reported.

Pakistan's batting abyss continued, as four Pakistani batsmen, including captain Mohammad Hafeez, were dismissed for a duck.

The only notable contribution came from Umar Akmal who scored 49 runs off 41 balls, almost half of all the runs made by Pakistan in the match.

Dale Steyn was the pick of the bowler from South Africa, he took three wickets for 15 runs in his four overs.

Earlier, Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat in the first of the two Twenty20 series, in Dubai, Cricinfo reported.

Pakistan have brought back all rounders Shoaib Malik and veteran Abdul Razzaq in place of ODI captain Misbahul Haq and batsman Umar Amin. Abdur Rehman is also included in the side in place of Junaid Khan.

South Africa bring back Imran Tahir in the place of Morne Morkel in the only change to their team.



Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

South Africa

AB de Villiers (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Imran Tahir, Lanwabo Tsotsobe.

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Shozab Raza (PAK)

TV umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


ahmed ali | 9 years ago | Reply

like hokey ,cricket has been destroyed by selecting players only from Punjab.....PCB should be shifted to Islamabad

Beats | 9 years ago | Reply

@Arun: Please provide girls on that beach

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read