Inzamam, Akhtar expected to feature in World Masters

Published: September 8, 2013
Inzimamul Haq and Shoaib Akhtar will be seen in action at the T20 World Master Tournament in West Indies.

Inzimamul Haq and Shoaib Akhtar will be seen in action at the T20 World Master Tournament in West Indies.


Fans around the world will soon get a chance to see cricket legends such as Inzamamul Haq, Brian Lara, Rahul Dravid, Shoaib Akhtar, Courtney Walsh, Graeme Hick and others in action at the T20 Clobi World Masters Of Cricket Tournament in Barbados.

It has been learnt by The Express Tribune that the event will be played from November 1-10 and will be a four-nation competition between the West Indies, Pakistan, India and England.

For eligibility, the participants should be aged above 35 before the start of the tournament and they must have represented their respective countries in either Tests or One-Day Internationals.

All players will be required to follow the rules and regulations of their one-year contract in order to avoid legal complications that may lead to the cancellation of contracts.

Pakistan are looking to field a strong line-up that includes 1992 world cup winning members as well. The expected squad consists of Akhtar, Inzamam, Mohammad Yousuf, Saqlain Mushtaq, Mushtaq Ahmad, Asif Mujtaba, Rava Navedul Hasan, Rashid Latif, Shabbir Ahmad, Asim Kamal, Yasir Hameed, Arshad Khan while the quartet of Moin Khan, Waqar Younis, Saeed Anwar and Azhar Mahmood will participate as per their availability.

Meanwhile, the West Indies squad is expected to feature Lara, Carl Hooper, Walsh, Curly Ambrose, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Floyd Refier, Vasbert Drakes, Courtney Browne, Collis King, Ezra Mosley, Staurt William and Pedro Collins.

India is likely to be represented by Dravid, Robin Singh, Rahul Sanghui, Amay Khurhsiya, Pravin Amre, Narendra Herwani, Harvinder Singh, Viyay Dahiya, Iqbal Saddiqui, Abey Karuilla, Gagan Khoda and Sadagoppan Ramesh.

England are expected to field Paul Collingwood, Hick, Paul Nixon Gladstone Small, Neil Fairbrother, Phil Defreitas, Devon Malcolm, Dean Headley, John Emburery, Glen Chapple, Mathew Maynard and Chris Schofield in the line-up.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 8th, 2013.

Like Sports on Facebook, follow @ETribuneSports on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (2)

More in Sports