First democratic transition: National Assembly members sworn in

PML-N nominates Ayaz Sadiq and Murtaza Javaid as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of National Assembly.

APP/afp/web Desk June 01, 2013
Media and other people gathered outside Parliament House to cover the 1st session of 14th National Assembly of Pakistan on Friday. EXPRESS TRIBUNE PHOTO/MUHAMMAD JAVAID

ISLAMABAD: Newly elected members of the National Assembly took oath during the first session of the 14th National Assembly on Saturday, Express News reported.

The oath was administered by the outgoing speaker of the National Assembly Fehmida Mirza.

The election for the slot of speaker and deputy speaker will be held on June 3, 2013, the outgoing speaker said.

The nomination applications for the slots can be filed until June 2, 2013.

Arif Alvi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) coming to attend the 1st session of 14th National Assembly on Friday.  EXPRESS TRIBUNE PHOTO/MUHAMMAD JAVAID

With a simple majority in the 342-member National Assembly, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz will take on the helm of affairs at a time when Pakistan is facing myriad problems from militancy to a shaky economy, worsening power crisis and failing public education and healthcare systems.

PML-N Chief Mian Nawaz Sharif arrives to attend the 1st session of 14th National Assembly on Friday. EXPRESS TRIBUNE PHOTO/MUHAMMAD JAVAID

Unlike its predecessors, PML-N has secured a simple majority contrary to pre-poll projections and is going to be in a far more comfortable position than the outgoing Pakistan Peoples Party-led government, which had to deal with diverse, and demanding, coalition partners.

The National Assembly will also be occupied by around 190 first time MNAs and will witness the return of some veteran politicians, particularly some disgruntled Baloch leaders who were not a part of the system during the previous five years.

Maulana Muhammad Gohar Shah of Jamiat Ulma-e-Islam-F (JUI-F) is coming to attend the 1st session of 14th National Assembly on Friday. EXPRESS TRIBUNE PHOTO/MUHAMMAD JAVAID

Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party chief Mehmood Khan Achakzai, former railways minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed, former premier Mir Zafarullah Jamali and Pakistan Muslim League-Zia leader Ijazul Haq are to name a few who have made a comeback in the National Assembly.

Chaudhry Hamid Hameed of PML-N is being welcomed by the supporters on his arrival to attend the 1st session of 14th National Assembly on Friday. EXPRESS TRIBUNE PHOTO/MUHAMMAD JAVAID

Following the oath taking ceremony, there was a roll signing ceremony and the session was then adjourned for Monday.

On June 4, nomination papers for the election of the new prime minister will be filed, which will likely culminate in the new premier taking oath on June 5.

Radio Pakistan reported that PML-N has nominated Ayaz Sadiq as the Speaker for the National Assembly and Murtaza Javed as the Deputy Speaker. They will face a parliamentary election on Monday.

"I thank Allah who gave our nation an opportunity to bring a new government through elections," Sharif told reporters at Islamabad airport where he arrived from his home town Lahore. Sharif was on Saturday nominated by his party as the Leader of the House in the National Assembly.

"It is a good development that a peaceful democratic transition is taking place today. There could not be a better way to change a government through ballot. I congratulate the nation over it."

Pakistan's 65-year history has been punctuated by three periods of military rule. The country achieved its democratic milestone by completing its full five-year term under a coalition government led by the Pakistan People's Party.

But the PPP was routed at the polls, blamed by voters for five years of apathy and drift which saw crippling power shortages worsen and militancy continue almost unabated.

PML-N leaders said they work with the opposition to take on the various problems confronting the country.

"We will closely coordinate with the opposition parties to tackle the enormous problems facing our country," senior PML-N figure and newly elected MP Ahsan Iqbal told reporters.

Missing members

Even though the inaugural session, when the oath was administered, some faces were absent at the celebratory occasion. These included upto ten elected MNAs.

Foremost in those absent were Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman.

Other prominent absentees included PTI vice chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who is facing re-polling in Thar. Another notable face missing was Jamshed Dasti.



Muslim Leaguer | 9 years ago | Reply

Congratulations to ALL Pakistanis for having first-ever democtratic transition in Pakistan, albeit after 66 years of its creation. Now Pakistan stands in the league of civilised countries and those looking down at Pakistan as a banana republic will bite the dust.

The credit for this historic moment goes to Mian Nawaz Sharif for not siding with any conspiracy against elected government and then the credit goes to the independent judiciary for explicitly declaring that any unconstitutional step will never be endorsed!

Ali S | 9 years ago | Reply

I voted for PTI, but have to admit that their 'tsunami' rhetoric was hit for consecutive sixes by the tiger. His comeback is the stuff of dreams, but I hope he does deliver as PM - no more excuses will work now since they can call virtually all the shots without any opposition's meddling.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read