K-P Assembly: PTI leaders elected speaker, deputy speaker

PTI leaders Asad Qaiser and Imtiaz Shahid elected unopposed.

Web Desk May 30, 2013
File photo of PTI leader Asad Qaiser. PHOTO: INP/FILE

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) leader Asad Qaiser was elected unopposed as the speaker of the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) Assembly, while another PTI leader Imtiaz Shahid was also elected unopposed as the deputy speaker of the assembly on Thursday, Express News reported.

The elections for the assembly speaker and the deputy speaker were held on Thursday in Peshawar.

From PTI, Asad Qaiser had applied for the slot of speaker in competition with Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazal’s (JUI-F) Haji Munawwar Khan Advocate, while PML-N leader Arbab Akbar Hayat was contesting for the slot of deputy speaker against PTI’s Imtiaz Shahid. The rivals withdrew their candidatures.

The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) Assembly commenced its first session on Wednesday where 122 newly elected members took oath.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) won the mandate in K-P in the elections and was set to form a government in an alliance with the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI).


Mirza | 8 years ago | Reply

Both ANP and PPP supported the candidates of PTI. This is what we call being gracious and accept the mandate of people. After your opponents are elected by the people they become leaders for next 5 years and the elections are over. That is how democratic parties act after elections.

Faisal | 8 years ago | Reply

@gohar: Aw, you're so sweet for feeling sorry. Funny how you're feeling sorry for PTI voters while they are not. I'm also not sure why you feel sorry. What really happened in this story that makes you feel so sorry for us?

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read