Pervaiz Elahi, Chaudhry Mukhtar to contest NA-105 Gujrat

Published: April 7, 2013
PML-Q, PPP heavy weights up against each other in Gujrat. PHOTO: EXPRESS/FILE

PML-Q, PPP heavy weights up against each other in Gujrat. PHOTO: EXPRESS/FILE

Two heavyweight candidates, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Chaudhry Ahmed Mukhtar and Pakistan Muslim League – Quaid (PML-Q) provincial president Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi will face each other in the NA-105 constituency in Gujrat, reported Express News.

The nomination papers of both candidates were accepted by the Election Commission of Pakistan on Sunday.

Ahmed Mukhtar’s brother Ahmed Saeed will also contest from the same constituency.

Both parties’ decision to field heavyweight candidates was considered suspicious as the parties had reportedly formed an electoral alliance for the elections and had agreed to award joint tickets for the respective constituencies to candidates who won the same seats in the previous elections.

A PPP leader had alleged that it was the PML-Q which had violated its commitment by fielding Elahi against Mukhtar in NA-105.

Sunday was the last day for the election commission to end scrutiny of nomination papers filed by the candidates.

Other nomination papers

NA-150 Multan:

– PTI’s Shah Mehmood Qureshi – accepted

NA-221 Hyderabad:

– Independent candidate Mir Haider Talpur – rejected

NA-154 Lodhran:

– PPP’s Mirza Nasir Baig – rejected

NA-177 and NA-178 Muzaffargarh:

– Jamshed Dasti’s brother Javed Dasti – accepted

NA-104 Jallalpur Jattan-Karianwala:

– PML-N’s Nawabzada Mazhar – accepted

– Asfandayar Wali – accepted

– PML-Q’s Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain – accepted

NA-148 Multan:

– Ali Musa Gilani – accepted

NA-9 Mardan:

– Amir Haider Hoti – accepted

NA-147 Okara:

– PML-N’s Moeen Khan Watto – accepted

– PPP’s Mian Manzoor Watto – accepted

NA-250 Karachi:

– Former president Pervez Musharraf – rejected

NA-51 Gojar Khan:

– Raja Pervaiz Ashraf – rejected

NA-32 Chitral:

– Former president Pervez Musharraf – accepted

NA-199 Lahore:

– Hamza Shahbaz – accepted

– Ayesha Ahad – accepted

NA-52 Rawalpindi:

– PML-N’s Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan – accepted

NA-120 Lahore:

– PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif – accepted

NA-1 Peshawar:

– PTI chief Imran Khan

– ANP’s Ghulam Ahmed Bilour

NA-161 Sahiwal:

– PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif– accepted

NA-89 Jhang IV:

Sheikh Waqas Akram– rejected

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (7)

  • Muhammad Asif Malik Gujrat
    Apr 7, 2013 - 2:29PM

    Ahmed Mukhtar Vs Pervaiz Elahi in Gujrat means Pak Vs India


  • H.A. Khan
    Apr 7, 2013 - 3:31PM

    Total drama


  • waseem sarwar
    Apr 7, 2013 - 4:02PM

    Elahi should go through without any doubt this time.


  • Ayesha
    Apr 7, 2013 - 4:28PM

    Chaudhris are better than Sharis. Only one work of Ilahi i e the 1122 service has more impact and use than the sum total of all the projects of Sharifs Govt. Sharifs are rather misusing the public funds for their propaganda.

    Panjabis are fortunate that Punjabi MQM is contesting elections from Punjab.We have convenient decision to vote them. They will ta\ agriculture income which is quite a chunk of revenue. They are more than thousand times better than Chaudhris, Sharifs and Khans.


  • Careless Whispers
    Apr 7, 2013 - 6:40PM

    i’m not a fan or supporter of PPP, in fact i hate PPP, but i will Vote for Ahmed Mukhtar over land grabber/land mafia family Recommend

  • pakistani
    Apr 7, 2013 - 8:10PM

    this is the situation where go for the option ‘none of above’


  • sensible
    Apr 7, 2013 - 8:42PM

    How come papers got accepted in one constituency and rejected in other?


More in Pakistan