Eight-member committee formed to appoint caretaker PM

Committee given time till Friday to appoint PM Ashraf's successor.

Web Desk March 19, 2013
Parliamentary committee formed. PHOTO: EXPRESS/FILE

An eight-member committee was formulated on Tuesday and tasked with picking the next caretaker prime minister of Pakistan, Express News reported.

The committee that was formulated by National Assembly speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza was given time till Friday to appoint the immediate successor to the current prime minister, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf.

The committee comprised of four members each from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and the outgoing government of the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

The PML-N would be represented by:


  • Mehtab Abbas

  • Khwaja Saad Rafique

  • Sardar Yaqoob Nasir

  • Pervaiz Rasheed

The outgoing government and the PPP will be represented by:


  • Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain

  • Farooq H Naek

  • Khurshid Shah

  • Ghulam Ahmed Bilour

The PPP and the opposition parties had earlier failed to reach a consensus on the appointment of the caretaker prime minister and on the constitution of a bipartisan caretaker setup in Sindh and Punjab.


Saadi | 8 years ago | Reply These are the people who decide our future :/.
Foreign Leg | 8 years ago | Reply

@Adnan: Agree with you 100%

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read