Internal democracy: PTI intra-party elections held

Yasin Khalil secures 415 votes against rival candidates and qualify as president for Peshawar district.

Our Correspondent February 11, 2013
PTI elects Yasin Khalil as president for Peshawar district in intra-party polls. PHOTO: FILE

PESHAWAR: Yasin Khalil won the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) inter-party polls and was elected president for Peshawar district, the party’s election commission said on Sunday.

At the district level, four candidates were contesting for the president seat. Khalil secured 415 votes against rival candidates Ishtiaq Urmar, Arshad Advocate and doctor Inayat, who received 300, 28 and 222 votes respectively.

Younas Zaheer was elected as general secretary, Gulbacha president town-1, Muhammad Jan president town-II, Arif Yousaf president town-III and Fazal Illahi president town-IV. Wajidullah and Sajid Nawaz were elected as senior vice presidents for Peshawar district.

More than 1,100 activists of the PTI cast votes for candidates contesting district and town seats at the Union Council level.

Earlier, results of intra-party polls in Peshawar had to be cancelled due to clashes between rival groups.

However, after re-elections took place, the candidates supported by PTI provincial leaders Pervaiz Khattak and Shoukat Yousafzai outshined their opponents, who had the support of PTI provincial president Asad Qaiser.

The PTI’s election commission has yet to announce polling dates for district Mardan where elections were postponed due to violent clashes between various groups.

Meanwhile, there has been a delay in announcing the results of elections in Charsadda, which were postponed due to allegations of widespread rigging in the polling process.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 11th, 2013.


ali | 8 years ago | Reply

@Ahmed: Sir this phase of election is based on an elecrtoral college. Onle the people elected in UC level are voting for the district level office bearers. Noe these district office bearers will elect the provincial offices.

Saad | 8 years ago | Reply

@HN: pmln election were held in one day and that was selection

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ