Maps for lost voters

Map displays how the constituency boundaries are drawn. PS-112 and PS-129 are two examples of how they were changed.

Hafeez Tunio December 20, 2012

On the Election Commission of Pakistan’s website it is difficult to tell how constituency boundaries were changed in 2002 because the PS maps are listed in isolation and no historical images are available. We attempted to piece them together like a jigsaw to give you an idea of where the lines are drawn. PS-112 and PS-129 are just two examples of how they were changed.

The story of PS-112

map 01

When the boundaries were redrawn in 2002, the Burns Road chunk, including Pakistan Chowk and Ratan Talao, was added to Clifton’s PS-112, claims the PPP. Another area, Sultanabad, a Pakhtun-dominated neighbourhood, was included in another constituency, PS 89, in Keamari Town. The new PS 112 constituency now crossed a major road, II Chundrigar Road, and a railway line. In 2008, MQM MPA Moqueem Alam won here with 27,371 votes by beating the PPP candidate Najmi Alam. PPP now proposes deleting Burns Road and restoring the constituency
to its pre-2002 form.

PPP’s Najmi Alam

Sindh Assembly seat PS-112 in 2008

Winner: Moqueem Alam (MQM) - 27,371 votes

Next: Najmi Alam (PPP) - 26,902 votes

PPP lost by 469 votes


“We have suffered the most as areas where we dominated were either infiltrated by outside votes or union councils where we were strong were moved to other constituencies”

The story of PS-129

map 02

Changes were made to PS 129. “Earlier, this constituency was known as PS 96 and was connected to Ibrahim Hyderi, Rehri and Landhi but in 2002 it was bifurcated from Landhi, paving the way for Jamote to win the election,” says Khuda Dino Shah, the former nazim of Bin Qasim Town.

Wasim Aftab

He said that the PPP has always won the seats from the rural areas of Malir, Gadap, Bin Qasim and Keamari, but for the first time the party lost the seat to the Jamote family, which has a strong vote bank in Ibrahim Hyderi, Rehri and its adjoining areas.

Mehmood Alam Jamote

Total number of registered voters in Sindh

1985 = 7,173,000

1998 = 9,879,000

1990 = 10,184,000

1993 = 11,022,000

1997 = 12,067,000

2002 = 16,181,000

2008 = 19,506,473

Published in The Express Tribune, December 21st, 2012.


Karachiwalay | 10 years ago | Reply

do what you think can benefit you, but mqm will win again. watch it.

Kanwal | 10 years ago | Reply

This is just tip of th iceberg. If this is happening in the most educated city of the country, what is the situation in the rest of the country? also, i am not sure how much this is going to affect MQM? can anybody explain? they have been winning overwhelming majority from karachi before 2002 as well. So whats the difference right now? and why is it not being done in whole country and just in karachi?

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read