Tour de France: Wiggins becomes Britain’s first winner

Cyclist clinches 99th edition ahead of Froome, Nibali.

Reuters July 22, 2012
Tour de France: Wiggins becomes Britain’s first winner


Bradley Wiggins became the first Briton to win the Tour de France when he claimed the 99th edition of the greatest cycling race.

Wiggins finished safe in the bunch on the 20th and last stage, a 120-km ride from Rambouillet won by Sky teammate and fellow Briton Mark Cavendish, the first reigning world champion to win on the Champs Elysees.

Overall, Wiggins led Sky compatriot Chris Froome by three minutes 21 seconds and Italian Vincenzo Nibali by 6:19.

Australian Cadel Evans, who started the three-week race as the defending champion, finished seventh overall and was beaten by his BMC team mate Tejay van Garderen, with the American taking fifth place and the white jersey for the best Under-25 rider.

France’s Thomas Voeckler claimed the polka dot jersey for the best climber and Slovakian Peter Sagan snatched the green jersey for the points classification.

RadioShack-Nissan won the team classification and Dane Chris Anker Sorensen was voted the most aggressive rider.

Wiggins, the first rider to win an Olympic track gold medal and the Tour, snatched the yellow jersey in the seventh stage at the end of the brutal climb to La Planche des Belles Filles.

He consolidated his overall lead with an awe-inspiring performance in the individual time trial on stage nine before Team Sky rode defensively in the mountains.

Only Froome appeared to be able to unsettle Wiggins, but the Kenyan-born rider was ordered by Team Sky to stay put after accelerating in the ascent to La Toussuire in the Alps.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 23rd, 2012.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ