Investiture Ceremony: 67 to receive national awards today

Published: March 23, 2012

ISLAMABAD: President Asif Ali Zardari will decorate 67 recipients of National Awards (Civil), including 5 foreign nationals, at the investiture ceremony being held at the Aiwan-e-Sadr on Friday. The President had approved 189 Pakistan Civil Awards on August14, 2012, with 9 approved as special cases after August 14, 2011, to be conferred on March 23, 2012. Some of those slated to receive Hilal-i-Imtiaz are Pakistan’s lone Oscar winner Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy, Sultan Ali Lakhani, Farzana Raja, and Nargis Sethi. Among those selected to receive Pride of Performance award are Meera, Jawed Sheikh and Nauman Ejaz. Those listed as Sitara-i-Imtiaz recipients include Mohammad Qavi Khan and Aslam Azhar. Among the distinguished people who will be decorated with Sitara-i-Imtiaz are Nazara Wazir Ali and Ghulam Murtaza Solangi.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 23rd, 2012.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan