Implementing APC ‘resolutions’: Pervez Ashraf made chief of special panel

The committee will reveal progress every month.

Express November 26, 2011


Raja Pervez Ashraf has unanimously been elected chairman of the special committee to oversee the implementation of resolutions passed by the All Parties Conference (APC).

The announcement, which was made on Friday, came after National Assembly Speaker Dr Fehmida Mirza constituted an 11-member special committee last week to oversee the implementation of a resolution of the APC.

The committee will, on a monthly-basis, make public all progress on the implementation. The panel will have three members from the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), two from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and one each from the six parties, including a group of parliamentarians from tribal areas.

However, the committee has yet to come up with a replacement for ex-MNA Sherry Rehman, who has been appointed Pakistan’s Ambassador to the United States. She was representing the PPP, along with her two other colleagues MNAs Dr Ayatullah Durrani and Raja Pervez Ashraf in the committee.

Representing the PML-N are MNAs Khawaja Muhammad Asif and Sardar Mehtab Ahmad Khan. Other members of the committee include Dr Attiya Inayatullah, Syed Haider Abbas Rizvi, Bushra Gohar, Attaur Rehman, Haji Khuda Bux Rajar and Munir Khan Orakzai.

Ashraf’s name was nominated for chairmanship of the said committee by Dr Durrani and seconded by all other members present during the meeting.

“The committee, with concerted efforts of all lawmakers, will try its level best to ensure the implementation of all resolutions passed by the APC in letter and spirit,” the chairman of the committee said.

Published in The Express Tribune, November 26th, 2011.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read