Another setback for PML-N as PTI clinches Sialkot by-poll

PTI's Ahsan secures 60,588 votes while PML-N's Tariq gets 53,471 in PP-38 by-election

Saqib Virk July 29, 2021


Days after clinching the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) elections, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) on Wednesday defeated rival Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz in Sialkot’s PP-38 by-polls – another setback for the PML-N.

According to the results received from all 165 polling stations of the constituency, PTI candidate Ahsan Saleem Baryar stood first with 60,588 votes while PML-N candidate Tariq Subhani could only secure the second position with 53,471 ballots.

Taking to Twitter, Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Farrukh Habib, while announcing the PTI's victory, said that after AJK, Sialkot also buried the PML-N narrative.

The ruling party, on its official Twitter handle, expressed hope that the party would win a two-thirds majority in the general elections 2023.

Read more: PTI set to form next AJK govt after clinching most seats

"It looks like we have clinched #PP38 (Sialkot). PTI seems unstoppable; InshaAllah 2/3 majority in 2023 Elections. PMLN used to claim Punjab as its stronghold; that myth is broken today. Our Naya Pakistan will keep rising under PM Imran Khan!," it added.

Meanwhile, PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz Sharif, crying foul play during the by-polls, saying that a victory or a defeat can only be determined when an election is held, not "selection".

"A government that only attracts curses from the people does not expect votes from the people, hence, they resort to 'selection'," she added.

Maryam further said that her party was in good spirits and the mandate of the people would soon be respected.

It is pertinent to mention here that the seat was vacated due to the death of Chaudhry Khush Akhtar Subhani of the PML-N.

The victory comes days after the ruling party emerged as the single-largest party after clinching at least 25 out of 45 seats in AJK elections, according to unofficial results.

Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) came in second with 11 seats while the PML-N bagged six seats.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read