Shaukat Tarin takes oath as new finance minister

President Dr Arif Alvi administered the oath at the President House

News Desk April 17, 2021
Finance Minister Shuakat Tareen. PHOTO: FILE

Former Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) lawmaker Shaukat Tarin was sworn in as the country's new finance minister on Saturday during a ceremony held at the President House.

President Dr Arif Alvi administered the oath.

Prime Minister Imran Khan on April 16 appointed the former PPP senator Shaukat Tarin as the finance minister in yet another cabinet reshuffle during the third year of the PTI-led government.

Tarin had also served as the finance minister in former premier Yousaf Raza Gilani's cabinet from 2009 to 2010.

Tarin replaced PTI’s recently appointed finance minister Hammad Azhar, who has now been given the portfolio of energy.

Read more: PTI senator congratulates Fawad Chaudhry on ‘reappointment as information minister’

Before Hammad’s short stint, PPP’s ex-financial czar Abdul Hafeez Shaikh served as the finance minister before being unceremoniously sacked last month – that too when the prime minister had claimed the economy was on course to recovery.

In other major changes, the prime minister has swapped the portfolios of science and information ministries between Fawad Chaudhry and Shibli Faraz. Fawad has been appointed the government’s spokesperson for the second time.

Shibli, who served as the information minister before his term as a senator ended in March, has been given the portfolio of the science and technology ministry.

In addition, PM Imran has appointed Khusro Bakhtiar the industries and production minister.

Our Publications



Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ