178 lawmakers were not present in NA for PM's confidence vote: Dawar

Opposition lawmaker says he will challenge govt's claim, demands investigation

DNA/News Desk March 06, 2021
File photos of PM Imran and Mohsin Dawar


Hours after Prime Minister Imran Khan secured the vote of confidence from members of National Assembly, Opposition MNA from North Waziristan Mohsin Dawar claimed that the required number of lawmakers were not present in the lower house at the time of voting.

The Pashtun Tahafuz Movement (PTM) leader said he will challenge the figure of 178 – the number of votes Premier Imran officially secured in Saturday’s session – demanding an investigation into the matter.

“This should be investigated through video footages to ascertain as to how many MNAs were genuinely present in the house and whose vote was counted as a formality,” said Dawar, who was the only opposition lawmaker present in the assembly.


However, the Free and Fair Election Network (Fafen) in its factsheet said that the premier received 178 votes in his favour during the session.

"164 (48%) lawmakers were present at the outset and 178 (52%) at adjournment of the sitting," it said.

Fafen said that parliamentary leaders from BAP, GDA, AML-P, PML-Q, MQM-P and JWP as well as five minority lawmakers also attended the session.

Earlier, the PTM leader had condemned the attack on Marriyum Aurangzeb, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Musadik Malik, Ahsan Iqbal and other PML-N leaders outside the Parliament House.

"This takes PTI thuggery to a new high from 2014. It's a dangerous precedent and is taking the situation towards direct confrontation… prime minister should show some responsibility," he wrote on his Twitter handle.



Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ