Names of Abbasi, Miftah placed on ECL

Published: April 26, 2019
Former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi. PHOTO: AFP

Former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi. PHOTO: AFP

The federal interior minister has placed the names of seven people, including former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and former finance minister Miftah Ismail, on the Exit Control List (ECL).

In a letter dated April 9, 2019, the ministry said the decision was taken on the recommendation of the National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

The other five people barred from flying abroad are Mubin Saulat, Shahid Islamuddin, Imran-ul-Haq, Uzma Adil Khan, and Aamer Naseem.

The letter states that the accused face charges of misuse of authority and causing losses to the national exchequer. “The amount involved in the case is Rs36.969 billion,” states the ministry’s letter.

Earlier in April, there were reports that the federal cabinet had also approved a move to place travel restrictions on Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) leaders Abbasi and Ismail.

It was said that while Abbasi’s name was to be placed on the ECL, Ismail’s name would be included on the interior ministry’s ‘stop list’.

NAB has accused former premier Abbasi of awarding a 15-year contract for a liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminal in violation of prescribed rules during his stint as petroleum minister in ex-PM Nawaz Sharif’s cabinet.

While the anti-graft body shelved the case in 2016, a decision to reopen the investigation was taken two years later in 2018. The former finance minister Ismail is also being investigated in connection with the LNG corruption case.

Facebook Conversations

Leave Your Reply Below

Your comments may appear in The Express Tribune paper. For this reason we encourage you to provide your city. The Express Tribune does not bear any responsibility for user comments.

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. For more information, please see our Comments FAQ.

More in Pakistan