Govt notifies police stations for merged tribal districts

Police to take up responsibilities in 24 precincts

Our Correspondent March 06, 2019
Police to take up responsibilities in 24 precincts. PHOTO: REUTERS

PESHAWAR: The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa government has declared 24 areas of newly merged districts as police station, said a notification issued by Home and Tribal Affairs Department on Tuesday.

The step follows K-P government earlier declaration to extend police and judiciary to the erstwhile Fata.

According to the notification, in the Bajaur tribal district, Khar and Nawagai have been declared as police stations.

Three precincts have been notified in Mohmand tribal district including Upper Mohmand, Lower Mohmand and Baizai.

Similarly, in Khyber tribal district, the provincial government has notified Jamrum, Landi Kotal and Bara as police stations.

Lower Orakzai police station and Upper Orakzai police station have been notified for Orakzai tribal district.

Meanwhile, for the Kurram tribal district, the K-P government has announced Upper Kurram, Lower Kurram and Central Kurram police stations.

Mir Ali police station, Miranshah police station and and Razmak police station will be policing North Waziristan, whereas Ladha police station, Sarwakai police station and Wana police station will be doing police work in South Waziristan.

Besides these, local area Hassan Khel of Peshawar district, Darra Adam Khel of Kohat district, Wazir in Bannu, Bettani in Lakki Marwat, Darazanda in Dera Ismail Khan and Jandola in Tank have been declared as police stations.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 6th, 2019.