NA conduct committee formed to keep a check on legislators

Published: January 29, 2019
National Assembly of Pakistan. PHOTO: APP

National Assembly of Pakistan. PHOTO: APP

In an attempt to maintain the decorum of the National Assembly during sessions, a 13-member conduct committee has been formed take action against those leaders who create chaos during the sessions of the lower house.

The committee, headed by NA Speaker Asad Qaiser, includes Prime Minister Imran Khan, Opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Co-chairperson Asif Ali Zardari, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) leader Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui and Railways Minister Sheikh Rasheed.

Apart from them, the committee also includes Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) leader Tariq Bashir Cheema, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) leader Asad Mehmood, Balochistan National Party (BNP) leader Akhtar Mengal, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) leader Khalid Hussain Magsi, Pakistan Muslim League (Functional) leader Ghos Bakhsh Khan Mahar, Awami National Party (ANP) leader Ameer Haider Khan Hoti, Jamhoori Watan Party (JWP) leader Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti.

NA, K-P speakers found guilty of misuse of authority

According to a notification issued by the National Assembly Secretariat, any complaint received regarding the conduct of a member of the assembly would be forwarded to the committee. The committee will then examine the behavior of the members and give recommendations.

The notification states that the committee will not address any complaints related to the cases pending in the court nor will it take action on complaints based on media reports.

It is pertinent to mention here that the decision to form the committee was made after constant instances of chaos and ruckus in the National Assembly.

Facebook Conversations

Leave Your Reply Below

Your comments may appear in The Express Tribune paper. For this reason we encourage you to provide your city. The Express Tribune does not bear any responsibility for user comments.

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. For more information, please see our Comments FAQ.

More in Pakistan