61 Balochistan MPAs to cast votes in presidential election today

Published: September 4, 2018


PHOTO: EXPRESS Balochistan Governor Muhammad Khan Achakzai discusses provincial matters with BHC Chief Justice Syeda Tahira Safdar in Quetta. PHOTO: FILE

QUETTA: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has established a polling station inside the Balochistan Assembly for Tuesday’s (today) presidential election, voting for which will start at 10am.

Sixty-one of 65 MPAs will cast their votes during the presidential election as two elected MPAs have not yet taken oath of the assembly while results of two constituencies have yet to be announced by the ECP.

Balochistan High Court Chief Justice Syeda Tahira Safdar will perform her responsibilities as the presiding officer.

Presidential race: JUI-F chief fails to win over Zardari

The ECP has instructed all elected members of the provincial assembly to bring their government cards while ballot papers and other material have been transported to the provincial assembly.

Three candidates belonging to the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and joint opposition – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, Awami National Party and Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party- are battling it out for the coveted post. PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi has the backing of the ruling coalition, while the joint opposition candidate is Maulana Fazlur Rehman and PPP’s is Aitzaz Ahsan.

Presidential election on Sept 4: ECP

The standoff between the opposition parties and the PPP over fielding a joint candidate has, according to several politicians, paved the way for Alvi’s win.

With the PTI already in power, clinching the president’s post would strengthen their position.
Voting will start at 10am and lasted till 4pm on Tuesday.

Facebook Conversations

More in Balochistan