PTI leads in Punjab; city goes to PML-N

Published: July 27, 2018


LAHORE: Punjab continues to be a major battleground for Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) with the former leading polls for national assembly seats from the province.

Out of the total 141 directly elected seats from Punjab, the results of a total of 116 seats have come in with PTI leading the way with 54 seats. According to the tally so far, PTI is leading the race with 54 seats, PML-N is behind with 49 seats while independent candidates and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) have secured 5 seats each.

PML-N to face PTI in its stronghold constituency

In the capital of the province – Lahore –PML-N maintained control by securing most of the seats. The capital has 14 national assembly constituencies and the former ruling party of the province has been able to secure 10 of them. The only real competition for National Assembly seats in Lahore was between PTI and PML-N. No other political party was able to secure a place from the city.

Tough competition was expected from the provincial capital with many of the bigwigs from both the parties contesting from the provincial capital. These heavyweights included PTI Chairman Imran Khan, PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif, National Assembly former speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Hamza Shahbaz, Aleem Khan and Khawaja Saad Rafique among others.

The PML-N was able to secure the National Assembly from NA-123 for Muhammad Riaz Malik, NA-124 for Hamza Shehbaz, NA-125 for Waheed Alam Khan, NA-127 for Ali Pervaiz, NA-128 for Shaikh Rohale Asghar, NA-129 for Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, NA-132 for Shehbaz Sharif, NA-133 for Pervaiz Malik, NA-134 for Rana Mubashir Iqbal and NA-136 for Malik Afzal Khokhar. For PTI, the party was able to secure NA-126 through Hammad Azhar, NA-130 through Shafqat Mehmood, NA-131 through party chief Imran Khan and NA-135 through Karamat Ali Khokhar.

The city saw stiff competition between the contestants of both parties. The PTI chief was contesting against Khawaja Saad Rafique in his home constituency with the latter losing by a thin margin. Another favourite from the city was Dr Yasim Rashid of the PTI, who lost to PML-N’s Waheed Alam Khan in NA-125. Another bigwig of PTI, Aleem Khan, lost to the PML-N candidate and former speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq from NA-129.

The official and final results are expected to be announced by the Election Commission of Pakistan today (Friday).

PML-N takes Bahawalpur

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) clinched victory in the general elections 2018, while Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI) remained the second most successful political party from Bahawalpur.

In NA-170 Bahawalpur-1, Muhammad Farooq Azam Malik from PTI won with 84,495 votes followed by Muhammad Balighur Rehman with 74,69 votes.

In NA-171 Bahawalpur-2, PML-N’s Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada won with 99,202 votes followed by PTI’s Chaudhry Naeemudin Waraich with 88,207 votes.

In NA-172 Bahawalpur-3, Pakistan Muslim League’s (PML) Chaudhry Tariq Basheer Cheema won with 106,383 votes followed by PML-N;s Saood Majeed with 101,971 votes.

In NA-173 Bahawalpur-4, PML-N’s Mian Najeebuddin Awaisi won with 86,142 votes followed by PTI, who secured 60,211 votes.

In NA-174 Bahawalpur-5, PTI’s Makhdoom Samiul Hassan Gillani won with 63,884 votes followed by independent candidate, Prince Bahawal Abbas Abbasi with 58,092 votes.

On the other hand, in PP-245 Zaheer Iqbal won with 47,177 votes followed by PTI’s Muhammad Asghar with 42,196 votes.

In PP-246 Bahawalpur-2, PTI’s Samiullah Chaudhry won with 46,175 votes followed by PML-N’s Rana Muhammad Tariq Khan with 26,851 votes.

In PP-247 Bahwalpur-3, PML-N’s Muhammad Kazim Pirzada won with 51,420 votes followed by an independent candidate, Muhammad Nawaz with 29,896 votes.

In PP-248 Bahwalpur-4, PML-N’s Muhammad Afzal Gul won with 48,829 votes followed by independent candidate Khaleel Ahmed with 34,693 votes.

In PP-249 Bahawalpur-5, PML’s Ehsanul Haq won with 48,393 votes followed by PML-N’s Khalid Mehmood Jajja with 47,840 votes.

In PP-250 Bahawalpur-6, PML’s Muhammad Afzal won with 51,229 votes followed by PML-N’s Saad Masood with 47,881 votes.

In PP-251 Bahawalpur-7, PML-N’s Malik Khalid Mehmood Babar won with 43,047 votes followed by PTI’s Malik Jahanzaib Waran with 21,802 votes.

All eyes on PML-N, PTI’s battle royale today

In PP-252 Bahawalpur-8, PML N’s Mian Muhammad Shoaib Awaisi won with 45,458 votes followed by PTI’s Malik Ahmad Usman Nawaz with 26,380 votes.

In PP-253 Bahawalpur-9, PTI’s Sahibzada Muhammad Guzeen Abbasi won with 36,375 votes followed by PML N’s Adnan Fareed with 31,359.

In PP-254 Bahawalpur-10, PTI’s Syed Ifttikhar Hassan won with 36,644 votes followed by Pakistan Peoples Party’s Syed Aamir Ali Shah with 27,403 votes.

All of the above results are unofficial.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 27th, 2018.

Facebook Conversations

More in Punjab