Facebook 'secretly' deletes messages from Zuckerberg to people's inboxes

The company admitted about messages being vanished from people's inbox


News Desk April 07, 2018
Deleting private messages from user's inbox without their consent may potentially go against Facebook’s terms of service. PHOTO: FILE

Facebook managed to delete private messages from people’s inboxes that were sent by CEO Mark Zuckerberg.

The company admitted about messages being vanished from people’s inbox, which was first observed by TechCrunch, who mentioned three sources that had been tampered with.

For a normal Facebook user, there is no way that they have the power to delete messages from other people’s inbox, although the CEO and other executives did have the ability to use this function for a few years.

I'm still the right person to lead Facebook despite 'mistakes': Zuckerberg

The self-destructing feature was added to respond back to the Sony Pictures hack in 2014 that used their employees' personal information, and a few unreleased films, Facebook said in a statement.

The reason behind using this feature was to delete embarrassing messages from going viral around.

Facebook says 87 million may be affected by data breach

“After Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives’ communications,” Facebook said.

“These included limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages.”

This act of deleting messages without the users consent can possibly go against Facebook’s terms of service.

This article originally appeared on The Independent.

COMMENTS

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

E-Publications

Most Read