In a first, Pakistan legends to participate in ice cricket

Afridi, Razzaq, Akhtar to participate as players; Wasim to perform mentor duties

Sports Desk February 03, 2018
PHOTO: Peshawar Zalmi

Pakistani cricket legends Wasim Akram, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq and Shoaib Akhtar have joined other former cricketers for the annual St Moritz Ice Cricket tournament being held in Switzerland on February 8 and 9.

The two-team T20 tournament will be held in the Swiss Alps. The pitch consists of an artificial turf carpet laid out on a snow field. Teams Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds and Royals have enlisted former cricket stars from around the world to compete in the event.

The Royals team comprises of legendary players from England, Pakistan, South Africa and New Zealand while Badrutt’s Palace Diamonds team comprises of iconic players from India, Sri Lanka, Australia and West Indies.

While all-rounders Razzaq, Afridi and Akhtar have joined the Royals squad, Akram is participating in the tournament as a mentor.

Although ice cricket has been played in St Moritz for 25 years, this is the first time the event has garnered renowned cricketers as participants.

The St Moritz lake freezes into an extremely thick layer of ice in winters which is then is covered by soft falling snow. This process enables the lake to withstand more than 200 tons of weight, which makes it perfect for sports.

Expressing his excitement about the upcoming event Akhtar tweeted.


The teams in detail:

Afridi's XI

Team Royals

Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

Graeme Smith (South Africa)

Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

Grant Elliott (New Zealand)

Nathan McCullum (New Zealand)

Owais Shah (England)

Monty Panesar (England)

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

Shoaib Akthar (Pakistan)

Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)

Matt Prior (England)

Aidan Andrews (Switzerland)


Sehwag's XI

Badrutt's Palace Diamonds

Virender Sehwag (India)

Ajit Agarkar (India)

Michael Hussey (Australia)

Mohammad Kaif (India)

Zaheer Khan (India)

Andrew Symonds (Australia)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)

Rohan Jain (Switzerland)

Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)

Ramesh Powar (India)

Mithun Manhas (India)