PML-N celebrates Chakwal by-poll victory

PML-N's candidate Haider Sultan won the by-polls with 75,934 votes

News Desk January 10, 2018
Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif. PHOTO: AFP/FILE

After the announcement of the PP-20 Chakwal-I by-poll results in which the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) gained victory with 75,934 votes, the party leaders took to Twitter to express their gratitude.

Maryam Nawaz, daughter of the deposed prime minister Nawaz Sharif, reacting to the party's victory,  said: “We bow our heads in gratitude to Allah for bestowing yet another victory upon us and humbly thank the people of Chakwal for believing in Sher”.

On the other hand, Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif expressed the confidence that people still had faith in the PML-N leadership,

"Chakwal reposes it's trust in PMLN ... Mubarak to all our workers & well-wishers... thanks to the people of Chakwal ... Allah be praised!"

PML-N’s candidate Haider Sultan was followed by Raja Tariq Afzal, the candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), who secured 46,025 votes.

In the Chakwal by-election, a total of 227 polling stations were established and 279,530 registered voters casted their vote. These included 144,000 male and 135,000 female voters.

The PP-20 Chakwal-I seat had fallen vacant on October 30 after PML-N MPA Chaudhry Liaquat Ali Khan passed away.


Manzoor Ahmed | 3 years ago | Reply Dhandli masters win again at mere penalty of rs 50,000/- by election commission when he should have been disqualified.
MAD | 3 years ago | Reply PMLN celebrated this win by killing two protesters in Kasur
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read