WhatsApp finally rolls out update that lets you 'unsend' messages

You only have seven minutes


Video: Narendar Kumar/Tech Desk October 28, 2017
WhatsApp finally lets you unsend messages PHOTO: AFP

WhatsApp is rolling out a much-awaited feature that will allow users to take back a message after they have already sent it.

Be it a group chat or an individual one, you will soon get your hands on this feature although there will naturally be some limitations.

Firstly, all members of the group or any individual conversation will need the latest version of the messenger to avail this facility.

China disrupts WhatsApp ahead of Communist Party meeting

Secondly and more importantly perhaps, WhatsApp has announced that senders will have seven minutes to figure out whether they want to delete the message or let it be. After those seven minutes are over, there is no way for anyone to delete the message.

The message that the sender deletes will read “This message was deleted” in place of the original message. But like Facebook, there is no way for the sender to know whether the message was deleted or not.

You can delete your messages both before and after others have read it, so if you want to delete something you didn't intend to write, you better hurry up.

You could always delete it later and pretend you never wrote anything but that isn't the most advised strategy.

WhatsApp adds colourful text-based Status updates

“This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake” revealed WhatsApp.

If you haven't received an update yet, don't worry its still being rolled out and should reach your devices in the next few days.

The update will be available on iOS and Android.

COMMENTS (2)

Najam | 3 years ago | Reply @Sonya: I think this only applies to text messages because the attached media is auto downloadable over a Wi-Fi network but yeah Whatsapp can put in place a check-mark for a sender whether his / her text messages containing media should be delivered within or after the seven minutes time span.
Sonya | 3 years ago | Reply Will this new feature apply to the text messages only or all media files sharing like image, video, audio etc. Will the new feature delete from the chat scroll only or will it delete the files from the whatsapp directory of image, video and audios???? if not then its a disappointment.
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

E-Publications

Most Read