Instagram just rolled out a new feature that would allow users to save live videos to their phone at the end of each broadcast.
The photo sharing app revealed the update in a post on its official blog which is now available for both Android and iOS users.
“Starting today [Tuesday], you’ll have the option to save your live video to your phone at the end of a broadcast. While live videos will continue to disappear from the app when you’re done, this update gives you the flexibility to hold onto your video and re-watch it later, especially if something exciting happens during your broadcast that you want to remember or share,” reads a statement on the company’s blog.
Instagram first announced the Live feature back in December last year which allowed users to broadcast videos through the app in real time. However, videos made through the live feature would disappear forever once streaming ended.
The latest update would now give users a save option at the end of each session to back up the live video to their camera roll.
“After your live broadcast ends, tap Save in the upper right corner. You’ll only be able to save your video — not the comments, likes, number of viewers or any live interactions,” says Instagram on its blog.
It is worth mentioning that videos will still disappear completely from the Instagram app itself which means neither broadcaster nor the viewers will be able to watch it in the Instagram app after the stream has ended.