First phase of census: Five districts of Hazara division to be counted

Published: March 15, 2017

ABBOTTABAD: Like other parts of K-P, preparation for the sixth census, which starts today, have been completed in five districts of Hazara division.

Census staff, along with military personnel have been sent to the respective areas, officials said on Tuesday.

Out of the 13 districts of K-P, five districts of Hazara division have been selected for the head counting exercise in the first phase, which kicks off from Wednesday. These districts include Haripur, Abbottabad, Mansehra, Battagram and Torghar.

The first phase of the census would last till April 14.

However, the three districts of Kohistan would be completed during next phase of the census. Officials said that this was because notification of the newly created third district of Palal Kolai has yet to be issued by the provincial government.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 15th, 2017.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan