War on terror: Officers awarded medals for exemplary service

IGP says K-P government will be requested to confer similar honours

Our Correspondent February 24, 2016
IGP says K-P government will be requested to confer similar honours. PHOTO: EXPRESS

PESHAWAR: IGP Nasir Khan Durrani conferred gallantry awards; Quaid-e-Azam police medals and President’s police medals to 21 police officers in recognition of their meritorious services in the line of duty. The ceremony was held at Central Police Office in the city on Wednesday.

Durrani paid tribute to the “unprecedented sacrifices of the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa police in the war against terror”. He said the gallantry exhibited by the police of the province was unparalleled, adding police officials added a new chapter of bravery and valour to the rich history of the force.

The IGP said without proper recognition of the sacrifices of police martyrs and survivors, the country cannot reach the zenith of success. “The sacrifices of valiant soldiers are way more than what a limited number of medals can honour,” Durrani said. He said in future, in addition to the federal government, the provincial government will also be requested to arrange medals to recognise the services of policemen.

In the past

The department had recommended names of various police officers in the year 2012-13 to the provincial government to send it forward to the federal government for the president’s approval. The recommended officials had either sacrificed their lives in line of duty or were injured and wounded in the process. The president of Pakistan had approved these awards and they were long due to be conferred to the heroes.

The nominees were awarded medals for their determination and heroism in various suicide and IED blasts, attacks on different police stations, police raids and encounters.

The martyrs

The posthumous Quaid-e-Azam police medals were awarded to SP Hilal Haider (Peshawar), DSP Khurshid Khan (Peshawar), inspector Sattar Khan (Peshawar), inspector Apeal Khan (Bannu), sub-inspector Khushdil Khan (Mardan), sub-inspector Imam Hussain (Bannu), sub-inspector Ismail Khan (Lakki Marwat) and constables Sareer Khan (Peshawar), Bashir Khan (Bannu), Ziauddin (Bannu), Imranullah (Bannu) and Muhammad Ismail (DI Khan). These awards were received by their heirs.

The survivors

Wounded constables who were conferred President’s police medals included Aqif (Bannu), Waqar (Bannu), Azam Khan (DI Khan), Saadullah (DI Khan), Kashif (DI Khan), Qaiser Khan (DI Khan), Muhammad Hassan (DI Khan), Khalid Khan (DI Khan), and Zahidullah of elite force.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 25th,  2016.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read