Watching from the sidelines: 121 candidates withdraw papers from Peshawar

Published: April 19, 2013

Former K-P assembly speaker Kiramatullah Khan Chagharmati of PPP withdrew his papers for PK-7. DESIGN: EMA ANIS

PESHAWAR: As the deadline draws closer, 121 candidates out of a pool of 425 on Thursday withdrew their nomination papers for four National Assembly and 11 provincial assembly seats from constituencies across the city.

NA-1 topped the list of withdrawals with 11 candidates, including Awami National Party’s Haroon Bashir Bilour, independent candidate Ahmad Aziz Bilour and Maulana Hussain Ahmad Maddani of Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), pulling out of the race.

Independent candidate Yasin Khalil, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Arbab Muhammad Tariq and Muhammad Hamayun Mohmand, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Arbab Saiful Haider, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Asma Alamgir and JUI-F’s Faridullah Khan are among those who have opted out of the NA-2 race. From NA-4, PML-N stalwart Amir Muqam and Jamaat-e-Islami’s Khalid Waqas withdrew their papers.

ANP’s Malik Ghulam Mustafa, PTI’s Sarfaraz Murasalin and Samad Murasalin and PPP’s Zulfiqar Afghani withdrew their nominations from PK-2, while ANP’s Ahmad Aziz Bilour, JUI-F’s Abdur Rauf and PTI’s Zahid Hussain pulled back from the PK-3 contest.

From the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), only Advocate Khalida Nasreen withdrew her nomination papers for PK-4, while former PPP parliamentarian Asma Alamgir also withdrew from the same constituency.

Former Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) assembly speaker Kiramatullah Khan Chagharmati of PPP withdrew his papers for PK-7, while ANP’s former provincial agriculture minister Arbab Muhammad Ayub Jan and JUI-F’s Haji Ghulam Ali are out of the race for PK-9.

Former K-P assembly deputy speaker Khushdil Khan of ANP, MQM’s Muhammad Arif, JUI-F’s Muhammad Tariq Afridi, and PTI’s Advocate Muhammad Arshad Advocate, Malik Tahir Raees and Muhammad Hanif Afridi withdrew their nomination papers for PK-10.

The final list of candidates will be announced on Friday (today).

Published in The Express Tribune, April 19th, 2013.

The Most Popular News of the day in your Inbox daily.

More in KP & FATA