PML-N names candidates from three divisions

Published: April 13, 2013

The PML-N has not yet decided who it will field against Sheikh Rashid in NA 55 Rawalpindi. Currently, the party’s ex-MNA Shakeel Awan is seen as a hot candidate. DESIGN: EMA ANIS

LAHORE .: Leaders of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) finalised on Friday the names of candidates for three divisions of Punjab during their central parliamentary board meeting.

Friday’s meeting which was chaired by PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif gave the final nod to Obaidullah Khan Shadikhel who will contest polls against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan from NA 71 constituency in Mianwali.

Besides Nawaz Sharif, Shahbaz Sharif, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Sardar Zulfiqar Khan Khosa and other senior leaders attended the crucial party meeting. The parliamentary board resumed its meeting after two days as Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan was not available to attend the meeting.

Allocation of party tickets was finalised for Rawalpindi, Sargodha and Sahiwal divisions.

Nawaz, who filed nomination papers from NA 68 constituency in Sargodha, has not yet decided whether to contest election from this seat. Sources cited Nawaz as telling the parliamentary board not to finalise his name for the time being. Nawaz is also contesting from NA 120 Lahore.

The PML-N has not yet decided who it will field against Sheikh Rashid in NA 55 Rawalpindi. Currently, the party’s ex-MNA Shakeel Awan is seen as a hot candidate.

Defeating Imran Khan in Mianwali

Nawaz discussed in detail how to defeat Imran Khan from NA 71 -Mianwali. According to some of participants, there were two candidates aspiring for PML-N ticket, Obaidullah Khan Shadikhel and Malik Fawad the younger brother of PPP’s former MNA Nawabazad Malik Amad Khan from NA 71.

The party unanimously decided to field Obaidullah Shadikhel against Imran Khan.

It is pertinent to mention that Shadikhel was defeated by Imran Khan in 2002 election, but he has publically said a number of times that he was defeated by the intelligence agencies.

Final candidates

PML-N final list of candidates for various constituencies of Punjab


NA 50 Shahid Khaqan Abbasi

NA 51 Chaudhry Riaz or Raja Ikhlas

NA 52 and NA 53 Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan

NA 54 Malik Ibrar

NA 56 Hanif Abbasi


NA 57 Sheikh Aftab


NA 64 Syed Aminul Hasnat

NA 65 Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha

NA 66 Hamid Amin

NA 67 Dr Zulfiqar Bhatti

NA 68 Sardar M Shafqat Hayat (if Nawaz Sharif does not contest from here)


NA 69 Sumaira Malik

NA 70 Malik Shakir Bashir Awan


NA 71 Obaidullah Shadikhel

NA 72 Humair Hayat Rokhri


NA 73 Abdul Maj

The Most Popular News of the day in your Inbox daily.

Reader Comments (10)

  • sensible
    Apr 13, 2013 - 1:37AM

    Even sharif can’t beat IK in Mainwali let alone any other.


  • Salman
    Apr 13, 2013 - 5:14AM

    Victory belongs to PTI only inshaAllah


  • Shakeel N
    Apr 13, 2013 - 6:36AM

    PTI will win majority of seats in elections 2013 In Sha Allah!!!


  • Iram
    Apr 13, 2013 - 10:00AM

    Nwaz, why should not you contest against Imran from Mianwali?


  • ikhlaas
    Apr 13, 2013 - 12:40PM

    pml n and ppp both together can’t defeat pti in mianwali


  • Sane voice
    Apr 13, 2013 - 1:27PM

    PTI Trolls just wait for May 11………………and all your arrogance will come down to the ground………Insha Allah.Recommend

  • Pakistani
    Apr 13, 2013 - 2:33PM


    PTI is PPP’s ally, After terrible run for five years……..the zardari’s whole game depend on PTI’s so called performace in the elections. If PTI can manage to just get enough votes, PPP may well be able to snatch some seats in punjab. That’s it.


  • Hamza Mir
    Apr 14, 2013 - 2:57PM

    lPML N Zindabad The only party who can save Pakistan from this Severe economic crisis. Imran Khan is just a drama and B tem of PPP party


  • Mozzaffar Ekbaal
    Apr 15, 2013 - 3:01PM

    Why Nawaz??? Why not IK who claimed to defeat Sharif Bros in Lahore. Sharifs never made any of such statement.


  • ayesha
    Apr 21, 2013 - 3:45PM

    yes i agree
    all the time imran khan said he will defeat mian sahab…why not he contest against mian sahab?
    pti is contesting on each and every seat throughout the country but why not pti contesting against shehbaaz sharif from na 122 lahore.


More in Punjab