Rave reviews: Bol inspires audiences across the border

Published: August 31, 2011

Bol's release was highly anticipated in India after it was announced earlier this year that it would be releasing this EId.

NEW DELHI: Film maker Shoaib Mansoor’s second film ‘Bol’ opened in India on Eid to rave reviews on Wednesday.

The film, which is the first by the talented director after his critically acclaimed and award-winning Khuda Kay Liye (2007), released in India on August 31 as planned.

According to IANS film critic Satyen K. Bordoloi, who gave Bol a generous 4/5 stars, said that it was embarrassing to see a Pakistani film ‘eclipse’ most commercial Indian films, especially considering the fact that compared to India, Pakistan produces a handful of films annually.

He added that Mansoor deals with issues such as women’s emancipation, trans-sexualism, right to education and religiosity with care and makes the audience feel for each issue.

Bordoloi said that the Indian audience could easily relate to the film, referring to female infanticide in India, adding that in it there lies a message for us all, to speak out against oppression, be it in the political sphere or the personal.

The only flaw in the movie according to the critic was that the melodrama got ‘overbearing’ sometimes.

Taran Adarsh of India’s popular cinema portal ‘bollywoodhungama.com’ and one of India’s most respected film critics gave the film a 4/5 too.

“A courageous film that has the guts to expose issues plaguing the society. It raises questions, challenges the age-old customs and mirrors a reality most convincingly. A brilliant film embellished with bravura performances. Not to be missed!”

According to indiaglitz.com, Indian veteran actor, Naseeruddin Shah,was reported to have said that he wished he was a part of the film. Having worked earlier in Mansoor’s Khuda Kay Liye, making a brief yet powerful appearance in the movie,  Shah was offered the role of ‘Hakim Sahab’ but had to refuse due to date issues. Shah termed the film as powerful and was eager to show it to his friends and family too.

Earlier this year, when the film released on June 24 in Pakistan, was declared a super hit despite receiving mixed reviews , as it had received a tremendous opening.

Khuda Kay Liye was the first Pakistani film to be officially released in India after many years, and Mansoor was confident that Bol would also hook the Indian audience.

Bol features the talents of Humaima Malick, singing sensation Atif Aslam, VJ Mahira Khan and model-turned actor Iman Ali, along with many other popular Pakistani actors. The film tells the tale of a girl who and challenges the age-old societal norms of treating women as the lesser sex. Based in Lahore, the film aims to highlight the plight of women, who are often treated as burdens by a large percentage of society. The movie also treads no-go areas like homosexuality and the life of eunuchs, in addition to talking about Shia-Sunni dynamics.

Reader Comments (64)

  • Mir Agha
    Aug 31, 2011 - 11:31PM

    Bol is alright. Too boring.Recommend

  • Cynical
    Sep 1, 2011 - 12:11AM

    I can’t forget the experience of ‘Khuda Ke Liye’.
    Can’t wait to watch ‘Bol’.

    Recommend

  • Ishtiaer Hussain
    Sep 1, 2011 - 12:43AM

    Thanks God we have this talented man Shoaib Mansoor who has made us proud. It is this sort of people who are fighting for the true soul and identity of Pakistan. Hats off to Shoaib Mansoor.

    Recommend

  • Sep 1, 2011 - 2:25AM

    Great news! BOL movie definitely deserves an applause and its healthy trend that Pakistani films are now buzzing there in Indian Cinemas.

    Recommend

  • Sep 1, 2011 - 2:30AM

    gooooooooooooooood

    Recommend

  • Mazan
    Sep 1, 2011 - 3:44AM

    Awesum reviews from across the boarder … Shoiad mansoor rocks ..

    Recommend

  • UnionJack
    Sep 1, 2011 - 5:04AM

    Well I haven’t seen Bol yet, but looking at the rate at which India is producing the third grade movies I would say any sensible director’s movie is most welcomed. Even south Indian mass masala movie remake like Ready and Bodyguard are becoming a hit. It is absolutely shocking. Our film censorship ban all nudity and bad words but certain expression and action and songs are far more vulgar then that, how did movies like Wanted, Ready or BodyGuard even get censorship approval????? Recommend

  • Sep 1, 2011 - 5:30AM

    Now contrast these reviews with the one you chose to publish: http://tribune.com.pk/story/194006/bol-you-dont-say/.

    Khair, at least our audience’s and India’s reviewers are better than our reviewers and their audiences. =D

    Recommend

  • My Name is Khan
    Sep 1, 2011 - 7:43AM

    Great to see Pakistani films being well received in India. I hope our transborder ties continue to grow so both of our nations can prosper.

    Recommend

  • Yasmeen
    Sep 1, 2011 - 10:46AM

    Bol was a big bore :(

    Recommend

  • Ranjit
    Sep 1, 2011 - 11:09AM

    I don’t know about Bol but I spit on every Hindi movie that Bollywood spits out. I would rather watch a meaningful Malayalam or Assamese or Oriya or Bhojpuria (with English sub-titles) than watch even one second of idiot Khan antics

    Recommend

  • Amjad
    Sep 1, 2011 - 11:28AM

    Sorry to say..bol is a very borin movie..ppl appreciate the outspoken value..but its depressing and boring

    Recommend

  • Harry Baweja
    Sep 1, 2011 - 1:26PM

    It means i should drop my plan of watching bol as pakistanis himself are saying it depressing.

    Recommend

  • Paras Vikmani
    Sep 1, 2011 - 1:51PM

    I saw the movie and I didn’t like it at all.

    Recommend

  • Ali S
    Sep 1, 2011 - 2:37PM

    Bol wasn’t that good, and Khuda Ke Liye either. They’re decent efforts by Pakistani standards considering how under-resourced our film ‘industry’ is and the music might be enjoyable, but they take serious, challenging topics and deal with them in a rather hammy and sensationalist way. But given the same formulaic jhing-jhing crap that Bollywood churns out every year, this is probably a welcome relief for Indians, I hope they enjoy it.

    Recommend

  • Bilal
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:07PM

    Well Superb Movie Must Watch..Its not commercial movie..but its very nice art movie.

    Recommend

  • Sara
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:07PM

    I am surprised why people saying BOL a boring movie

    yes, some times its over bearing as critic said

    but the topic is excellent, and the area reflect in the movie, story represent tha same very well

    i must say its very good movie.

    One thing i want to say, in PAKISTAN a woman pronounced to death sentence but never punished so. it always changed to life sentence on mercy appeal.

    only here i say, thats the story demand etc

    otherwise the story is good, making is good, specialy HAKEEM sahab, very natural,

    super, one must watch it.

    Recommend

  • Sara
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:08PM

    Reality is always so sour

    thats so the movie is

    Recommend

  • Tadit Kundu
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:08PM

    Hey, all Pakistani dudes out there…. you made a good movie…. thanks for giving us some good movie to watch on a holiday. Its Ganesh Chaturthi holiday in Mumbai and went to watch the movie… and I think it was really worth it….

    Recommend

  • narayana murthy
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:45PM

    If this movie remains in cinemas for another ten days at least, in Bangalore, I am going to watch it without failure. I have certain issues for the next 10 days. Cannot watch it.Recommend

  • narayana murthy
    Sep 1, 2011 - 4:55PM

    @Ali S

    We don’t need a relief from Pakistan, to be honest. However, it’s most welcome.

    We have plenty of good films made in various regional languages.

    Yes, Bollywood is mostly crap. But that’s what you are exposed to and not good Indian cinemas.

    If BOL remains in cinemas in Bangalore for another 10 days, I will watch it.

    Recommend

  • heena
    Sep 1, 2011 - 6:52PM

    bol is a toboring, but atif looking so cool in film’s poster.

    Recommend

  • asim
    Sep 1, 2011 - 6:53PM

    Is havnt seen it n wht I hv heard…tbhis movi totaly sucks..total roona dhona….we watch movi to relax not toget mor depressed.

    Recommend

  • Fareed Inam
    Sep 1, 2011 - 7:15PM

    The movie was totally over the top. It was a complete cinematic diatribe by Shoaib Mansoor, capable of depressing and repulsing any sane individual. And while Khuda Ke Liye had a certain entertainment quotient, it was totally missing here.

    Recommend

  • M. Hassan Bhatti
    Sep 1, 2011 - 7:28PM

    I have watched BOL. The story is totally a new one for the audience, the moive is technically very good, offers a very nice story and lets viewers gain something from it, music is outstanding. It supports the rights of women which is a problem in many countaries especially Asian countaries. If you go to cinema, watch the movie, I am sure that most people would say that the movie is great to watch. If anyone needs the audio songs of this movie, just send me and e-mail at [email protected], I will e-mail back all the music of BOL in 256 kbps quality, I am sure you will enjoy it. Have a Good Day.

    Recommend

  • not impressed
    Sep 1, 2011 - 8:46PM

    isn’t it obvious that anything playing up fanaticism, racism, sexism, and any other ‘isms’ you can think of in Pakistan will be popular in India?

    Recommend

  • Rafik Hassan
    Sep 1, 2011 - 9:47PM

    Saw this two months ago and will think twice before watching another Shoaib Mansoor polemic

    Recommend

  • alishba
    Sep 1, 2011 - 10:53PM

    its a gud effrot by shoaib mansoor …..atleast this movie made people to discuss some serious issues of our society …….

    Recommend

  • Imran Rafiq
    Sep 1, 2011 - 11:32PM

    Outstanding movie…Best urdu movie after black.

    Recommend

  • Sep 1, 2011 - 11:52PM

    Judging by the critics here I think should be called “Bore” rather than “Bol”

    Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 2, 2011 - 5:21AM

    Times of India gave 4 Stars to BOL and 2 Stars to Bodyguard.

    However, Public is likely to watch bodyguard because of its Masala content. Pakistanis seem quite mature to me as Khuda Ke Liye and Bol film have done far better than commercial cinema (including many Bollywood Blockbuster). This is AGAINST THE TREND if we look at BOX OFFICE REPORTS from around the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 2, 2011 - 5:39AM

    @ Paras Vikmani

    I am not surprised that unlike Indian film critics, you disliked the movie (probably without watching!). In fact, I never saw any positive comment about Pakistan or Muslims coming from you. Be it about Norway Massacre (where you said that Europe is intolerant of Muslims and you feel they are justified but ‘you cannot go on killing people’)

    OR Somali Pirates issue where you say Why India should pay to release Pakistanis. When Indians were released with PAKISTANI MONEY, you did not bother praising Pakistan.

    BOL has recovered its finance many times over already in Pakistan. With this negativity, it is only you who is being misguided!

    Recommend

  • Sana
    Sep 2, 2011 - 6:42AM

    For those who say Bol is boring and depressing movie …. I guess all you want is fairytale movies full of masala songs and vulgar dialogues to make you believe that the real world is all about boys and girls woo-ing each other … We need movies that reflect on real world issues and yes Bol is not for entertaintment… it has a different target crowd .. those who want to see a movie with a message rather than meaningless crap. And if you just dont want to watch it because of animosity towards your neighbour country then I must say our politicians have done a brilliant job to fill hate in hearts!

    Recommend

  • Sep 2, 2011 - 3:19PM

    i dont get shoaib mansoors mentallity why does he have to make a movie specifically for the 1 percent of the populace and they dont even like it. Bol is just a joke attempt at a large scale movie . these art films are not meant to revive bollywood. he could have made a simple love story b/w atif and mahira and we would have loved it but he had to pick a story of one family and project it to the world that it happens everywhere in pakistan

    I am going to watch Bhai loog and Reema khans movie cause movie are meant to entertain not to be journalism. Bhailoog all the way.

    Recommend

  • Abu faiz
    Sep 2, 2011 - 4:15PM

    @Ovais:

    If bol was a bore watching bhai log makes one look like fool. You are going to be disappointed at this one as well dude…. I was.

    Recommend

  • Abu faiz
    Sep 2, 2011 - 4:17PM

    @Sana:
    Who is the neighbour? didn’t get your point.
    But Bol was real Bore to say the least.

    Recommend

  • Rafik Hassan
    Sep 2, 2011 - 7:23PM

    I agree with Ovais, Shoaib Mansoor tends to showcase the worst of Pakistan, I have yet to see a Hollywood film on corporate abuse, the failed-jail system or how they wreck the world. I think Reema has hit the right note with her film, that is the kind of uplifting cinema we need to see more of. Will be checking out Love Mein Gum very soon, it’s showing with more screenings than the bollywood film running alongside, which is an encouraging sign for Pakistani cinema.

    <Recommend

  • Sep 2, 2011 - 7:23PM

    @Abu faiz:
    i havent watched it … but atleast its a mass entertainer .. I dont like the vulgur cinema i guess in it . But Bol was really a joke at revival of cinema.Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 2, 2011 - 7:32PM

    @ Ovais

    Its a business model. If he made a film only for less than 1%, how come its the highest earner??

    Yes big population lives in villages but they dont watch anything. The ones in cities matter much more!!

    Recommend

  • Sep 2, 2011 - 8:28PM

    @optimist:
    he made a movie of 6 -10 crore and only earned 4.5 crore in Pakistan and that is including the middle man share. had he made a good quality movie with a simple story involving atif it would have grossed more. Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 2, 2011 - 10:11PM

    @ Ovais

    These are inflated figures. Khuda Ke Liye cost 3 crore, despite the fact that it was shot in three continents (Asia, Europe, USA) with a lot of white faces!!

    ….Bol is much cheaper movie. Even Indian films dont cost that much (according to Times of India WHOLE of BOLLYWOOD earns LESS in a YEAR than one Hollywood blockbuster like Pirates of Carribean.

    …..BOL made 2.5 Crore in less than one week in Pakistan. Its not dead yet! In the UK, it is showing to packed houses. In here, they reduced the shows within a day if the film does do well. In Bol’s case, its shows have been increased to 4 a day where it started with just one show.

    Recommend

  • Sep 2, 2011 - 11:15PM

    @optimist:
    Get your stats right and i just dont see these kind of movies as entertaining. He made a play like alpha bravo charlie .. why cant he stay on light hearted themes and we can all enjoy and love it liike we did with ABC. He should keep in mind that after all the mullah he criticize are still part of the majority and defaming every guy with a dhari on every single occasion is not justified . Just make a normal movie about a normal man in pakistan . filled with romance , action or comedy and thats it . a simple story. u may not like salman khan or shahrukh khan but the reason bollywood is one of the most high earning medium is due their simple yet effective persona.

    Bol made 2.5 carores in a country with 35 cinemas is impossible . so grow up first .2.5 carore minus shares of distributors so in total SM got a carore plus i guess. and he will recover his cost with sattelite and international releases but the point is its not going to revive media. We need a persona of simple atif that we and even india could like. Like look at ali zafar if his upcoming yrf flick works he will be in the top league of Indian cinema

    Recommend

  • XYZ
    Sep 3, 2011 - 1:25AM

    HAA all Indians want are naked sheela and munni’s in their films 2 seduce and entertain their illiterate crowd….watch a realistic film like Bol and elevate ur maturity levels!!!Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 3, 2011 - 2:31AM

    @ Ovais

    He is a great director who is making films on topics that he is good at. He is only one director showing the way. Rest is up to us.

    Feel free to make movies that you think are good. At least don’t criticise the guy who is doing something good.

    As far your stats, I think you need to re-check your stats. Khuda Ke Liye made more than 7 Crore (on 3 Crore budget) in Pakistan alone and without much publicity did relatviely well in India and UK.

    …….. Why can’t Bol make 2.5 Core in 6 days in Pak when you yourself mentioned 4.5 Crore (probably you took it from Wikipedia that clearly mentions that it was 2 Weeks taking). Bo is still showing in Pak & growing. It is just one genere.

    I welcome ‘geniuses’ like you to come forward and bridge the gap in Pak movie industry. We cannot rely on Shoib Mansoor alone. But he did put a big dent on our ‘incompetence’ image by making two films that at least people know. Before, Indians used to ask me in the UK ‘How come you guys know all our films and we dont know anyting about your film industry’!

    Recommend

  • optimist
    Sep 3, 2011 - 2:33AM

    Bol has given us prestige which is much more than getting money from ‘Munni Badnam hui’ type songs.

    Times of India gives 2 and half stars to BODYGUARD and 4 stars to BOL!

    BOL Rating Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/movie-reviews/hindi/Bol/moviereview/9797368.cms

    Bodyguard Rating Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/movie-reviews/hindi/Bodyguard/moviereview/9797287.cms

    Recommend

  • Sep 3, 2011 - 10:06AM

    and bodyguard is a mass appeal movie . critics dont really know what people wants. Bol is not a mass entertainer and thus not a good movie that will revive Pakistani cinema . The revival depends on success of mass entertainers

    Shoaib Mansoor made alpha bravo charlie as well .. he can make movies on lighter issues as well

    Recommend

  • Rafik Hassan
    Sep 3, 2011 - 12:06PM

    Sorry guys. Films like BOL are really bad PR for Pakistan and you need to see that. Shoaib Mansoor needs to promote tolerance with his cinema rather than creating divisions.

    Recommend

  • kkayani
    Sep 3, 2011 - 2:05PM

    i just seen the film on Eid and just love the subject this is not only pakistani issue it is sub contigint issue I hope more to come other pakistani and indian directors, pakistan/hindustan zindabad

    Recommend

  • farhan
    Sep 4, 2011 - 1:46AM

    @Harry Baweja:
    no harry just go n watch even though its a kind of depressing movie not an entertainment package but u ll love dis movie for sure

    Recommend

  • Maya
    Sep 4, 2011 - 3:33PM

    A brilliant movie, must be watched by all as gives a good message.

    Recommend

  • sid
    Sep 5, 2011 - 2:05AM

    In a nation with no “real” film industry and very limited talent and creativity, a film like “Bol” would obviously generate hype. But does this movie actually lives up to it? The answer is a resounding NO.
    “Bol” is nothing but a very immature attempt at tackling taboo issues and bringing them to a large screen. The director, Shoaib Mansoor is clearly out of his league. His talent is limited to small screen and he should just stick to making Dramas for TV.
    Watching “Bol” was like watching a kid play with too many toys. There was no storyline, just a hodgepodge of all the ills in our society.
    Perhaps Shoaib Mansoor should learn a thing or two about making movies with sensitive subjects from Iranian directors.
    I’m all for revival of cinema in Pakistan but if that means we have to hail a tripe of a movie like “Bol” as cinematic genius then count me out!Recommend

  • faraz
    Sep 5, 2011 - 3:53AM

    bol is a great movie…. it was nice story. beat by indian cinema

    Recommend

  • ghazala
    Sep 5, 2011 - 11:14PM

    I think Bol was a great movie . Its thought provoking and deals with issues taboo in our society. It was exxagerated( all movies are. How realistic is a James bond movie which audience rave about??? )Its bold with a very strong message. Why should all movies be just sing song snd love stories ? Dont we see the same trash over and over again in the indian cinema…
    We need to see and think hard about all things happening around us. Lets not be ostriches hiding his head under the sand!!Sometimes serious is GOOD.

    Recommend

  • R. Khan
    Sep 6, 2011 - 7:07AM

    Fantastic Movie for Mature Audiences!

    Recommend

  • Zeeshan
    Sep 6, 2011 - 1:36PM

    Hello to All… I have Watched the film BOL 3 times and really love the movie. With out any doubt best Pakistani film ever and one of the best i have ever seen. recommended for the youth specially. music is much better than Body guard, ready, kuda K Liyai etc. not a boring film at all the truth is that when some one shows mirror to our society we dont like it. and if there was a element of nudity in the movie people say “WHAT A FILM” be realistic face the truth.

    Recommend

  • Zeeshan
    Sep 6, 2011 - 1:54PM

    Hello to All… I have Watched the film BOL 3 times and really love the movie. With out any doubt best Pakistani film ever and one of the best i have ever seen. recommended for the youth specially. music is much better than Body guard, ready, kuda K Liyai etc. not a boring film at all the truth is that when some one shows mirror to our society we dont like it. and if there was a element of nudity in the movie people say “WHAT A FILM” be realistic face the truth……

    Recommend

  • Sep 6, 2011 - 3:07PM

    Loved the movie. Great effort – highlighted key issues. I wonder if a lot of Pakistanis didn’t like it simply because it challenges their idea of what is right or wrong (most of them having bought into the tunnel-view method of looking at life and islam). The movie may not be the most technically brilliant piece ever done nor the best writing ever but makes up for the treatment of the issues and bringing them to the fore. I’m proud there is some real Art still coming out from Pakistan. I’ll stop believing in Pakistan if the music dies out…

    Recommend

  • Kl
    Sep 7, 2011 - 6:51AM

    Agree with Mr. Shah above. Express Tribune’s ‘review’ of Bol pales in comparison to the reviews across the border. That said the ‘review’ was still better than a bitter diatribe against both the movie and, curiously, the director, Shoaib Mansoor that I read on the website of a Lahore based English newspaper. However it is perhaps time to invest on better movie (and music but I digress!) critic who knows a thing or two about films and knows how to write a review?

    Recommend

  • AMAN SINGH
    Sep 13, 2011 - 10:34PM

    hello guyz, although I m frm india and I hate pakistan , bt your movie BOL has forced me to say, u people r may b gud. its only sum bad people who r making it dirty. I don’t hav words to praise the movie BOL. really I don’t hav any bol ( bol meaning in india is to speak) for your super duper awesum fosum movie BOL. GRT WORK MY DEAR NEIGHBOURS.
    may b frm now onwards,i wont use any harsh words for ur country.Recommend

  • AMAN SINGH
    Sep 13, 2011 - 10:36PM

    hello guyz, although I m frm india and I hate pakistan , bt your movie BOL has forced me to say, u people r may b gud. its only sum bad people who r making it dirty. I don’t hav words to praise the movie BOL. really I don’t hav any bol ( bol meaning in india is to speak) for your super duper awesum fosum movie BOL. GRT WORK MY DEAR NEIGHBOURS

    Recommend

  • Wajahat
    Sep 15, 2011 - 12:43PM

    Great ART movie. best ever film by pakistan. Show the realty of life with very organize way. best movie i have ever see. People how have taste must like this movie.

    Recommend

  • Lateef Khan
    Sep 15, 2011 - 8:41PM

    Wonderful film and still house full in London cinemas.. what esle can you ask for?

    Recommend

  • irshad
    Sep 18, 2011 - 11:13PM

    Hi friends…Bol is a good movie. You should watch it…its about some serious issues of our society…!ty…!

    Recommend

More in Pakistan