'The Unquiet Ones' shortlisted for cricket book award

Published: September 3, 2015

The Unquiet Ones: A History of Pakistan Cricket by journalist Osman Samiuddin, is among the six books shortlisted for the Book of the Year award by the Cricket Writers’ Club.

According to the website, the winner will be revealed at the club’s annual luncheon on September 28.

Samiuddin’s book details the story Pakistan cricket; how the game transformed from an urban, exclusive sport into a glue uniting millions in a vast, disparate country.

Formed in 1947, the Cricket Writers’ Club is an association for cricket journalists working in print, television or radio.

Read: Johnson wins best cricketer of the year award

In 1950, the club began awarding a Young Cricketer of the Year award, and have since introduced a number of other awards, including Book of Year, which are presented at their annual dinner.

Other books on the sport, which have been shortlisted, include The Awkward Squad by John Lucas, The Strangers Who Came Home by John Lazenby, KP- The Autobiography by Kevin Pietersen, Summer’s Crown by Stephen Chalke and Sundial in the Shade by Andrew Murtagh.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (2)

  • Umair
    Sep 4, 2015 - 1:39AM

    where is Peter Oborne’s “The Wounded Tiger”?Recommend

  • J.Niaz
    Sep 7, 2015 - 2:24AM

    This is a wonderful book to read. Osman Samiuddin is a writer whose work sets out the history extremely well.
    Deserves the award. Recommend

More in Sports