Top slot: Hafeezur Rahman approved as next CM of Gilgit-Baltistan

Rahman was scheduled to meet Nawaz on Monday but the meeting was postponed till Tuesday

Shabbir Mir June 15, 2015
Hafeezur Rahman. PHOTO: FILE


Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has approved Hafeezur Rahman as next chief minister of Gilgit-Baltistan, insiders privy to the development said on Monday.

“The PM has given his nod for Rahman as next CM G-B. However he will announce it during his upcoming visit to Gilgit,” a source said.

Rahman was scheduled to meet Nawaz on Monday but the meeting was postponed till Tuesday. However the PM approved Hafeez for the slot from all possible contenders including Mir Ghazanfar and Fida Nashad. The two seats were won from Hunza and Skardu respectively in the elections held on June 8.

Chief Election Commissioner G-B Justice (R) Tahir Ali Shah on Monday announced the results of G-B legislative assembly elections held on June 8 under army supervision.

According to official results, PML-N has emerged as the single largest party after winning 15 seats out of 23 in GBLA election.

Other parties including Islami Tehreek Pakistan [ITP], MWM won two seats each while PTI, PPP secured one seat each.

Winning PML-N candidates included Jaffrullah who won from the constituency of GBLA-1, Hafiz Hafeez-ur-Rehman from GBLA-2 and Dr Muhammad Iqbal from GBLA-3.

Independent candidate Fida Khan who had won from GBLA-20 has joined PML-N.

The two candidates of ITP, Muhammad Ali and Muhammad Sikandar Ali both won from GBLA-4 and GBLA-10, respectively. Similarly MWM’s Rizwan Ali won from GBLA-5 and Imtiaz Haider from GBLA- 8.

PTI candidate Raja Jahanzeb won from GBLA-21, JUI candidate Haji Shah Baig won from GBLA-15. The lone winning representative of PPP, Imran Nadeem won from GBLA-12. Nawaz Khan Naji grabbed GBLA-19 seat as an independent candidate.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 16th, 2015. 


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read