Awarding literati: Abdullah Hussain, Afzal Randhawa nominated

11 writers, poets of different national languages nominated for National Literary Award?

Our Correspondent June 10, 2015
Afzal Ahsan Randhawa, Abdullah Hussain

ISLAMABAD: Noted novelist Abdullah Hussain and Punjabi language short-story writer Afzal Ahsan Randhawa have been nominated for “Kamal-e-Fun” award for 2012 and 2013 respectively. “Kamal-e-Fun” is the highest literary award of Pakistan, given for lifetime achievement in creative and research work that carries cash prize of Rs500,000.

The Pakistan Academy of Letters (PAL) Chairperson, Dr Qasim Bugio announced the decision at a press conference here on Wednesday.

A panel of judges comprising writers and intellectuals — Masood Ashar, Dr Shahid Iqbal Kamran, Dr Riaz Majeed, Hafeez Khan, Dr Muhammad Iqbal, Naseem Khattak, Taj Baloch, Munir Ahmad Badini, Prof Nazir Tabassum and Dr Munaza Yaqoob, which met here at the PAL, nominated the two literary giants for the award.

The panel also announced “National Literary Award” for the year 2013, given on the best literary books in Urdu and other Pakistani languages with a monetary reward of Rs100,000.

Dr Bughio said that the academy had been working for the promotion of literature and national languages.

“It is an honour for us that we have gathered here to encourage writers who have been writing throughout their lives for promotion of literature. The awards were initiated in 1997 and have been given to writers for the last 15 years,” he said.

Some of the prominent recipients of the awards include Ahmed Nadeem Qasmi, Intizar Hussain and Mushtaq Ahmad Yousafi.

Poet Sabir Zafar has been nominated for Dr Allama Muhammad Iqbal Award for his book “Sar-e-Bazaar Mee Raqsam”. In Urdu prose segment, Hasan Manzar has been nominated for the “Baba-e-Urdu Molvi Abdul Haq Award” for his book “Insan Ae Insan”. Zahid Masood has been nominated for the Syed Waris Shah Award for his Punjabi language book “Kanee Kanee Darya”. In Sindhi-language category, Dr Ghulam Qadir Soomro has been nominated for Shah Abdul Latif Bhittai Award for his book “Sindhi Adab Mein Tanz Aen Mazah”. In the Pashto-language category,

Qamar Rahi has been nominated for the Khushal Khan Khattak Award for his book “Mashal”, while in the Balochi-language category Munir Ahmad Badini has been nominated for the Mast Tavakali Award for his book “Baheshatu Dozaha”. Mazar Khan has been nominated for Khwaja Ghulam Fareed Award in the Seraiki language for his book “Pani Naal Kahani” and Ferhad Hervi for his book “Koi Asman Te Kalha Hosee”. For Taj Muhammad Tajal Award in the Brahui language Rahim Naz has been nominated for his book “Maher Naz Baad” and in the Hindko language category, for Saeen Ahmad Ali Award, Abdul Waheed Bismil has been nominated for his book “Kache Dahley Peenghan”.

In English language category, for Pitras Bukhari Award, Ayesha Jalal has been nominated for her book “The Pity of Partition”. In the translation category Muhammad Hasan Askari Award, Muhammad Umar Memon has been nominated for his book “Novel ka Fun”.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 11th, 2015.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read