ICC announces umpires, officials, warm-ups schedule for World Cup

Australia and New Zealand co-host the event from February 14 which ends with the final in Melbourne on March 29

Afp December 02, 2014

DUBAI/ SYDNEY: The International Cricket Council Tuesday named four World Cup winners in a 25-member match officials' team for next year's World Cup, setting the ball rolling with 73 days to go for the mega event.

Australia and New Zealand co-host the event from February 14 which ends with the final in Melbourne on March 29.

A total of 49 matches will be played across 14 venues, seven in New Zealand (Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington) and seven in Australia (Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney).

The five match referees – David Boon (Australia), Chris Broad (England), Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama (both from Sri Lanka) – are from the elite panel.

The elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar (Pakistan), Billy Bowden (New Zealand), Bruce Oxenford (Australia), Ian Gould (England), Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka), Marais Erasmus (South Africa), Nigel Llong (England), Paul Reiffel (Australia), Richard Illingworth (England), Richard Kettleborough (England), Rod Tucker and Steve Davis (both Australia).

Eight umpires from the international panel will also officiate matches — Johan Cloete (South Africa), Simon Fry (Australia), Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand), Michael Gough (England), Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru (both Sri Lanka), Ravi Sundaram (India) and Joel Wilson (West Indies).

The World Cup winners in the line-up are Boon (1987), Dharmasena, Mahanama (1996) and Reiffel (1999).

The umpires were chosen by the selection panel of Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager — Cricket), Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee), David Lloyd (former player, coach, umpire and now television commentator) and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (former elite panel umpire).

The specific match appointments will be announced in February after the warm-up matches, the ICC said.

World Cup warm-ups announced

A series of World Cup warm-ups were announced on Tuesday with South Africa facing Sri Lanka and New Zealand, England taking on the West Indies and Pakistan, and Australia against reigning champions India.

A total of 14 games will be played at Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney and Christchurch from February 8-13 ahead of the tournament proper, jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, starting on February 14.

The matches are not official one-dayers and will operate under slightly different rules, with up to 15 players able to be used but no more than 11 players at any one time.

"The public will be welcome to attend warm-up matches which will be ticketed but free of charge," said the International Cricket Council.

Warm-up schedule

February 8: India v Australia at Adelaide

February 9: South Africa v Sri Lanka at Christchurch; New Zealand v Zimbabwe at Christchurch; England v West Indies at Sydney, Pakistan v Bangladesh at Sydney

February 10: Ireland v Scotland at Sydney; India v Afghanistan at Adelaide

February 11: New Zealand v South Africa at Christchurch; Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe at Christchurch; Australia v UAE at Melbourne; England v Pakistan at Sydney

February 12: West Indies v Scotland at Sydney, Ireland v Bangladesh at Sydney

February 13: Afghanistan v UAE at Sydney

Like Sports on Facebookfollow @ETribuneSports on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.


Ali | 7 years ago | Reply

So India gets to play two warmups at Adelaide before the India Pakistan clash. Not a coincidence at all..

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read