Karachi BISE: Science group achieves better pass rate than general group

Hafiza Lababa claims first position in general group, Marwa comes first for science.

Web Desk July 25, 2014

FAISALABAD/ LAHORE/ KARACHI: The Karachi Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education (BISE) announced the results of the annual matriculation examinations on Friday, with science group achieving a better success rate than the general group, Express News reported.

The science group got a pass rate of 70.15 percent while only 55.18 percent of students in the general group cleared their examinations.

Position holders for science include Marwa in first place; Mahnoor Rehman and Muhammad Hanif Ghani, who tied for second and Sara Khalid, who came in third.

Hafiza Lababa scored 92.76 in her exam, claiming the top position in the general group, with Asma Siddiqui following close behind with 92.25%. Hafiza Ghaiba Waqar came in third with her score of 90.12%.


The Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education (BISE), which had announced names of position holders on Thursday, announced detailed results today at Alhamra Hall and held an award giving ceremony as well.

Punjab Law Minister Rana Mashhood attended the ceremony and gave out medals to outstanding students. Mashhood, while speaking at the ceremony, said the system in place in Lahore gave rich and poor students a fair and equal chance to succeed, adding that influential people were not given any unfair advantage.

Express News screengrab of Rana Mahhood awarding a medal to one of the students at the ceremony.

In Lahore, 124,343 out of 185,753 students obtained passing results.


Seventy percent of the 123,946 students in Faisalabad passed their exams, with Shahroz Tabassum, a student of La Salle High school in first place, Usama Anwar of the same school in second and Muhammad Umar Farooq of Kamil Foundation coming in third.


Baba Ji | 9 years ago | Reply As always .. No ?
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ