Nawaz Sharif forms two-member committee on media security

Committee to oversee security of media houses consists of ministers Chaudhry Nisar Ali and Pervez Rashid.

Web Desk January 18, 2014
The committee will consist of Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Pervez Rashid. PHOTOS: FILE

KARACHI: A day after three staffers of Express Media Group were gunned down in Karachi, Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif announced on Saturday that a two-member committee will oversee the security of media houses, Express News reported.

The committee consisting of Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and Information Minister Pervez Rashid, has been directed to immediately give practical proposals for the protection of media houses.

Earlier on Saturday, Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan had said that a meeting will be held within the next few days to discuss how security can be given to the media.

“We will take the provinces into confidence to ensure that security is provided,” the minister told the press in Islamabad.

“Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif directed me and Chaudhry Nisar to discuss security measures to be taken for protection of journalists with their representative organisations,” said Federal Information Minister Pervez Rashid, while speaking to Express News.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read