South Africa beat Pakistan by six runs to sweep T20 series 2-0

Sohaib Maqsood scored 37 runs but could not help his team to victory.

Afp/web Desk November 15, 2013
South African cricketers celebrate after taking a wicket of Mohammad Hafeez (R) during the second and last cricket T20 International against Pakistan at Dubai stadium on November 15, 2013 in Dubai. PHOTO: AFP

DUBAI: Despite including eight batsmen in the side, Pakistan could not chase the 150 run target set by South Africa and lost the second and final Twenty20 match in Dubai by six runs, Express News reported.

Pakistan, who had lost the first T20 by nine wickets, could only make 144 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Sohaib Maqsood top scored for Pakistan with 37 runs.

For South Africa, Wayne Parnell picked up three wickets while Dale Steyn and Imran Tahir picking up two wickets each.

Earlier, a half century by South Africa captain Faf du Plessis helped the Proteas post 150 runs in their allotted 20 overs, in the second Twenty20 international in Dubai.

Plessis scored 58 runs in a South African innings which showed strong batting. Both the Proteas openers got double figure scores with Quinton de Knock 30, and Hashim Amla 48.

For Pakistan, Saeed Ajmal was the pick of the bowlers picking up three wickets. Sohail Tanveer chipped in with two wickets, with the second of the two coming on the last ball of the innings.

Earlier on Friday, South Africa won the toss in the second Twenty20 match against Pakistan at the Dubai International Stadium.

Pakistan, who could only score 98 runs and were then routed by South African batsmen, have opted to go into the match with eight batsmen, with Nasir Jamshed replacing bowler Abdur Rehman.

South Africa replace injured Jean-Paul Duminy with Henry Davids in their only change to the side.


Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Sohaib Maqsood, Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Irfan, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Henry Davids, Quniton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Zameer Haider (PAK)

TV umpire: Shozab Raza (PAK)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


rahul | 9 years ago | Reply

Why are they playing Indian movie songs in the background during the match ?? This shows that even Pakistani people are not interested in listening to their (Pakistani) musicians ... And people come and comment that they don't like Indian movies. Such hypocrites !!

Khurram | 9 years ago | Reply

And we lost again....Buhahahahahahahaha......

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read